Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
16
4.1 out of 5 stars


on 4 October 2016
This is like a pocket dictionary of British dialect - a collection of words from all over the UK. Of course, it would be impossible to cover all words in around 230 pages but this is a delight to dip into. You could say, ok today I'm going to look at all words starting with L for example. The "dictionary" is interspersed with articles by Simon Elmes about regional accents and their pronunciation. A great chronicle of unusual words - all too soon these words die out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
Like all Susies' books - fascinating, entertaining reading. Yet another glimpse into the origins of the most beautiful language in the world

Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
Brilliant! For fuller comments, see my review of "Dent's Modern Tribes".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Got this for my friend for xmas she thinks its fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
would highly recommend this book. very funny. well worth the money . great entertainment very clever lady is susie dent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
V.good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
Bought as a gift to send to USA.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
I miss a guide to the dialect pronunciation where possible. Otherwise it was fun to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Was expecting a bit more to be honest. Susie is so interesting on Countdown and I look forward to hearing her descriptions of the origin of our language. This was pretty basic stuff, not much seems to be covered overall, and I was hoping to see at least some of the strange expressions common to where I'm from, and there are a lot, but I found none at all I recognise here. Shame. Won't be buying any more of her books I'm afraid.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
This book was well received by my Father in Law who loves anything about words and is an avid Countdown watcher. I was surprised that it was such a short book for the price but he was happy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)