Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
52
Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves: (Jeeves & Wooster)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 August 2007
When I was growing up I watched the ITV "Jeeves & Wooster" series starring Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie before I'd read any of the books, so the books are now irrevocably tinged with Hugh Laurie's voice when I read them. Not necessarily a bad thing, as it seems the TV adaptation was pretty faithful.

It is of course a fun little run-around farce, complete with some classical farcical elements- what Wooster discovers as he has to hide behind the sofa, the midnight snack, being chased by out of control dogs, the works. Wodehouse really does do it best.

The fact that this book is effectively a sequel didn't detract anything from the story for me, as everything is neatly and wittily recapped near the beginning. You won't end up confused.

A good laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 May 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Jeeves reveals a new skill in this episode of Wooster's adventures, all in the aid of getting his employer out of trouble, yet again, as Wooster puts old skills to the test for the sake of helping his aunt, whilst trying to avoid marriage with the Bassett disaster, but getting embroiled in schemes to teach Old Bassett a lesson (who actually gets a hard-boiled egg thrown at him!) and getting everyone into a right mess before Jeeves subtly saves the day, again! Well, you get the idea.

Practically everyone is at Totleigh towers, so imagine the possibilities and the whole fantastic story is narrated marvellously by Cecil who portrays each character in turn with a unique and hilarious style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 May 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Bertie Wooster attracts disaster in the same way as Basil Fawlty. He merely asks a quiet life, but a collection of friends and associates will insist on dragging him into their schemes. Here, poor Bertie sets out to help his good friend, Stinker Pinker, and unwittingly finds himself almost married to the simpering Madeline Bassett, whilst falling foul once more of the veritable ogre Roderick Spode. Thankfully, Jeeves is on hand to rescue Bertie from this terrible fate and restore equilibrium. Jonathan Cecil is the perfect Wodehouse narrator, he's spot on with every tone and nuance, drawing out the personalities of a wide, beautifully crafted range of characters. This reading is a positive joy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 August 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
What is it about PG Wodehouse and Jeeves and Wooster that appeals to people? I think its the simple fact of enjoying other peoples discomfort, Bertie Wooster's in particular. Often saved by the intervention of Jeeves, a man for whom there is inevitably a simple solution to any problem no matter how complicated, and this is a veritable Gordian Knot of a problem for Bertie. Perfectly delivered by Jonathon Cecil in a straight to microphone delivery, it perfectly captures the twists and turns of Bertie's impending dooms, be they matrimonial, criminal, sartorial or Spode! A delight for anyone with a penchant for the absurd. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 January 2005
Dante had his Inferno. Odysseus had to get past Scylla and Charybdis. And Bertie Wooster has to darken the dangerous halls of Totleigh Towers again to avoid the unwelcome bands of matrimony with Miss Madeline Bassett.
Madeline's engagement to that world-class newt lover, Gussie Fink-Nottle, is on the rocks when Madeline insists that the meat-loving Gussie become a vegetarian. That's dangerous because Madeline has always made it clear that she will have no other man than Bertie as her husband if Gussie isn't available. So Bertie volunteers to enter that place where all others abandon hope in order to try to repair the engagement. But he's soon in trouble because Emerald Stoker, daughter of the American millionaire, has taken a temporary job as the cook at Totleigh Towers and is tempting Gussie with steak and kidney pie and ham sandwiches. Soon love is following the growls of Gussie's stomach, and Gussie insults the sunset and Madeline's favorite fictional character.
At the same time, Stiffi Byng's engagement to Stinker Pinker is on the rocks as well because Pop Bassett won't come through with the vicar's job that Stinker needs to be able to afford to marry. A rocky day at the school treat makes progress even more problematical.
Jeeves is the source of the all the solutions as he often is, but relations are strained even there by Bertie's new hat which Jeeves feels is unsuitable.
Stiffi also takes to absconding with Pop Bassett's prize gee-gaw, which Bertie's Uncle Tom covets, and matters develop to make Bertie look like a thief again. Can Bertie escape the goal?
In the best of the Jeeves stories, the plot unfolds in a fairly straightforward fashion that holds Bertie at ransom to fate. Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves has such a plot. I highly recommend this book to you.
This book should also remind you to read the Jeeves books in order of their publication. Many of the best are sequels to the finest of the early stories. Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves is one of those sequels. Enjoy!
Are you ready for something to wet the old tonsils?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2007
There is no point repeating what others have said before me. Sometimes I wonder who is the better author: Dickens or Wodehouse. It's not comparing like with like, I know, but to elevate someone to the high podium so often allocated to Dickens, well, that is something.

Dickens edges through thanks to the extent of his grasp of vocabulary. Wodehouse runs away with it on the fluidity of the diction used, if I may put it like that. There is simply no better literary work that can help one improve the quality of one's English so entertainingly as Wodehouse's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 November 2000
It is astonishing to me that someone so attached to bachelorhood as Bertie has been engaged to every female under the age of fifty in Britain and in any dealings with women this is where his worst nightmares lie! Women see him as a reliable stand in when their preferred relationships breakdown. Madeline is the worst of the lot. She is so romantic that she makes you want to vomit and you share Bertie's distress at the impending nuptials and how to avoid them in this wonderfully funny book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2011
I loved this book and recommended it to my friends. It's the first Jeeves book i read and i went on to buy them all after reading this. Wodehouse writes so well that you'd think Bertie is having a conversation with you in his head. It didn't get boring at all and i thoroughly looked forward to long train rides just so i could read this.

Think Curb Your Enthusiasm set in 1930's England.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Despite much urging from many friends, I have never read any P G Wodehouse, nor watched any of the television adaptations. So I thought that this would be a good opportunity to try some. And, well, yes, it's o.k.

Of course, the story is very well and wittily written. I can see the appeal of P G Wodehouse's writing. But I don't really understand why Jeeves puts up with Bertie Wooster. It is a very odd picture really, when you think about it. There's a suspicion that there is a whole strata of society supporting the likes of Bertie Wooster, people who are competent, knowledgeable, working and in close touch with each other, content to support a whole upper-class of butterflies. Jeeves thus appears as almost an iceberg - ninety percent of his life is usually hidden from view, hinted at when he extricates his erstwhile employer from the various scrapes that he finds himself in. It's interesting to perhaps compare Jeeves and Wooster with, say, Ivy Compton-Burnett, a contemporary of P G Wodehouse, or even 'The Remains Of The Day'. So really, I'm mainly left with a feeling of bemusement.

And then I've not really used audio-books before. I love radio drama - it's a cliché but still true to say that the pictures are best in radio. But to just listen to someone reading a book, unabridged, is something I'd not done before. It is a handy way of...er...'experiencing' a book. The main attraction is that you can, like radio, do something else while listening. But I found that if I was not doing something while listening, I fell asleep. Still, it does mean that I now have no ironing at all waiting to be done.

Jonathan Cecil is an excellent and sympathetic reader. Of course, he has himself played Bertie Wooster in the past, as well as appeared in such radio series as The Hitch-Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy, so he is familiar with both the genre and the medium. His lively and characterful performance does justice to the material.

I am now tempted to perhaps pick up some of P G Wodehouse's books. But I'm not sure about audio-books - there is a limit to the amount of ironing I have to do.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEHALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 April 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Amazon have grouped all the "Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves" product reviews for books, cassettes and CDs together which gives this new BBC Audio Book a bit of a biased start as most reviews are about other versions of the story. Some other reviews describe how this story fits into the Jeeves and Wooster series, and Amazon's Product Description gives a brief outline of the plot, so I will just concentrate on what this particular version offers.

BBC Audio's new version of this Wodehouse classic presents the complete and unabridged version of the story read by actor Jonathan Cecil - you may recognise his voice from his TV and film work. The whole thing runs for seven hours and fills six audio CDs which are presented in a double size CD jewel case containing fold-out sections to hold all the discs. There is little information provided within the package - just a brief biography of P G Wodehouse and an ad for BBC Audio.

I'm not sure if CDs are now the best method of presenting spoken content - or even music for that matter -most people I know who enjoy this type of entertainment now prefer to download to a portable device for convenience, cost and easy storage. However, this BBC Audio set will probably find a limited market amongst those still happy using CDs. As for the reading itself Jonathan Cecil has a suitable voice for the material, and has actually played Bertie Wooster on TV back in 1981, but having enjoyed Stephen Fry's TV portrayal of Jeeves I couldn't help rather wishing that he was doing the storytelling here!

A reasonable enough effort from BBC Audio this package is sure to please at least some of P G Wodehouse's many fans. Personally I found seven hours of Jonathan Cecil to be about enough for me, but I did quite enjoy the experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse