Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
33
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2006
I usually find that sequels are agreat disappointment but this book is an exception. How do you follow such a wonderful book as 'Blood Sisters'? Barbara and Stephanie Keating know just how.

Most of the story takes place in Kenya following independence.Hannah, an Afrikaans, is struggling to preserve her farm which suffers a series of attacks. Sarah, after suffering the tragic loss of her fiance is rebuilding her life as a photographer studying elephant behaviour. Camilla is a super-model with a celebrity lifestyle in London but the love of the country of her childhood keeps drawing her back.

The descriptive text puts many a travelogue to shame. it's a big book - a saga - but I could not put it down.

This is the Keating sisters' third book and each one is wonderfully entertaining. In addition to 'Blood Sisters' they have also written a marvellous book 'To my daughter in France'. Do yourself a favour and read all three.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 February 2007
This is that rare thing - a sequel that does not disappoint! The Keating sisters have yet again managed to work together to produce a fantastic book - which follows on where the first one left off.

Again, it is a well researched insight into the history of Kenya and how its early years of independence affected three young women and their immediate families. It shows how, in their own ways, they begin to come to terms with the tragic death of someone very close to each one of them. It shows how rifts develop due to misunderstandings and lack of communication; rifts which are later dealt with.

However, the traumas are not yet finished. There is a lot more for the girls to deal with as, yet again, someone is causing problems for the farm and the lodge. As we read on, we find out the root cause of these problems and we begin to understand more of the background to the period.

This is a fantastic book, and I agree with the previous reviewer. Treat yourself, and buy the set, then curl up and enjoy!

I can't wait for them to produce another book, and envy anyone discovering these authors for the first time!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2008
I haven't quite finished this book yet but am deliberately taking it slowly because it is such an enjoyable read! This is the third book that I have read by these two authors and I have thoroughly enjoyed each one. Their stories keep your interest so well.Their style flows so beautifully that reading is effortless even when you think you are too tired to pick up a book. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Wonderful book, having spent some of my childhood in Kenya I feel I am reliving that time. Bought all three books and am on the third. Would recommend them to anyone especially if you have spent time in Kenya, memories come flooding back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
This is an excellent powerful traumatic unexpected heart stirring sequel to BLOOD SISTERS every bit as shocking and you cannot put it down make sure you have the 3rd in this trilogy IN BORROWED LIGHT to continue
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
This is a well-written story with three female lead characters, supported by an interesting cast of family, friends and colleagues. Over the years of the story, the characters evolve in credible ways as a function of their life experiences and effects of the different environments in Kenya and Britain. The story is well-written, the natural world is beautifully described, and the various action episodes are gripping, but the finale is disappointing for its improbability. I felt that the authors just got tired of writing and decided to bring everything to a screeching close, hence the 3-star rating.

Areas of weakness (beyond the denouement) include the overly drawn-out tension in the first third of the book as the leitmotiv is established. This tension drags on until details of the personal tragedy are finally revealed.

While one of the key themes is how individuals deal with misfortune and personal tragedy, toward the last third of the book I was beginning to get bored with the "next big disaster" to befall each of the three protagonists. Needless to say, the denouement defies belief, invoking two more disasters whose timing and consequences stretch credibility to its limit. This improbable conclusion undermines all that goes before.

Having grown up in Britain in the swinging 60s, I found the depiction of attitudes, values, and interactions between men and women, classes, and races to be faithful portrayals of the time. It is interesting to reflect how far we have progressed since that time when young men never questioned their right to tell their wives how to behave in public (Lars and Hannah), when women felt guilty about being successful professionals, and when whites were completely unaware of the perniciousness of what was called the "color bar." Thank God for the equality and non-discrimination of modern times.

At first I was doubtful about a co-authored novel, but the delivery was seamless, with many memorable pieces of evocative writing and consistency of tone throughout the work. I am now ready to read more by B. and S. Keating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
Having been brought up in kenya in the 70s i found the first book very evocative and the descriptions of the light/sounds/smells were spot on for memories of a child/teenager growing up there - and those of us who did know that it is ingrained for ever deep in our psyche... The LOVE theme is very strong and the death of Piet is extremely well described, i very nearly cried - and i dont think i have EVER cried over a book!
After reading the 1st book i just HAD to get the next two to complete the trilogy, and i am glad i did as i need to know how the girls pan out - but have to admit that by the end of this one i am wondering if i will manage the last one.... it is getting a little repetitive and the themes slightly overworked... the believeability is wearing thin.
BUT - i have hope and faith that the best is saved till last and it will climax in a blaze of feelgood drama with a twist, leaving me feeling satisfied and optimistic that the sisters' literary life is not over yet! (their "To my daughter in France" had an interesting plot and was well researched, but the writing was rather "corny" - hoping that was just beginners' rough edges...)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2007
This is a great follow up to the many unanswered questions in Blood Sisters, well crafted and with a great pace. There is a brilliant mix of atmosphere, interest in the various individuals and their lives and the political situation at the time. There are just enough characters to provide story lines that have the complexity to retain your interest and be able to descrbe in detail without becoming too complicated or jumping between scenes too much.

I am in a dilema whether to read on and find out what happens or not as I don't really want to finish this book!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
I have now read the first two books in this series, while some of the content is upsetting and things go a little too wrong for the characters, the books are wonderful, really well written. I love all the characters and love to imagine the Kenya countryside.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2010
Before purchasing this book you must read Blood Sisters by the same author an equally fascinating read. As the sequel to Blood Sisters Endurable Fire was a brilliant read. I would highly recommend both.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.