Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
120
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2017
This book opens brightly as the scene is set for the author’s decision to embark on an epic motorcycle journey. Her account of life in the BBC, that she wants to escape from, is laugh out loud funny. The light-hearted approach continues as she starts he journey in Alaska but as she works her way south it starts to wear thin. These type of travelogue books need more to sustain the narrative than repeated anecdotes about latin lotharios, corrupt cops, bike repairs etc... There is very little in this book that tells us about the places she has visited. Instead we get a very narrow perspective contained by her immediate experiences which makes for an underwhelming book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
As some other reviews say, she's no Ted Simon or Melissa Holbrook Pierson. I'm sure she had great fun on her trip, but none of that really makes it on to the page. There's no real insight into where she is travelling, nothing very interesting happens, and the writing is functional.

You know how most motorbike travel books make you want to jump on your bike and get out there? This one makes you feel OK about carrying on going to work instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2011
Iread this book in a couple of days, just couldn't put it down!
The book is a great read, informative, very funny in parts, all in all it's a very good book!
I take my hat off to her for jacking in her boring job at the BBC, and embarking on such a mega ride on a Yamaha Serow trail bike!
It must have been one hell of a journey on such a small motorbike, from Anchorage to the southern tip of South America.
But she seemed to take everything in her stride without too many problems,she even had the company of 2 other women bikers for parts of the trip.
A recommended read for anyone interested in adventure travel, motorcycling, or just wanting a really good read!
I can't wait to start reading her other book, Red tape and White knuckles!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It is well written with shrewd observations of both the landscape and it's inhabitants in a style that is both factual and humorous. Keep `er lit, as they say here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
arrived promptly and as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2010
Adventure motorcycling has become very mainstream since the adventures of Ewan and Charley on Long Way Round/Down. However motorcycling adventures have been going on since the 1930's when women like Theresa Wallach rode a motorbike and sidecar though the African continent. Lois decided to give up her job at the BBC and ride her 250cc motorcycle from the top of the Americas to very bottom. The ride saw her clock up over 20,000 miles though North and South America. Early on in her trip Lois has to deal with extreme weather in Canada and jobs worthy police which see's her bike get impounded but she gets by. Once she enters into North America she experiences some of the American dream and is joined by a fellow women motorcyclist in LA for the next leg of her journey. Whilst in LA Lois here's some horror stories about some South American countries and she and her travelling companion head across into Mexico with caution.
Thankfully these horror stories never materialist and Lois experiences all the ups,downs, joys, every biker expects when undertaking such adventures. During Lois journey her bike suffers the odd problem but their was always someone willing to lend her a hand. unfortunately towards the end of her journey tragedy does strike for another travelling women biker she meets but you should read the book to discover this.
The fact the Lois completed this journey on such a smaller CC bike is a real testament to her and you can't help but admire Lois throughout the book.
Their are all sorts of Motorcycle adventure books on the market these days and im pretty sure you would will miss out on a great read if you ignore this one.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2007
I couldn't put this book down and knocked it out in 2 days! It was well composed, intelligent, informative, shocking in places, very, very funny and a true story to boot. Lois has a disarming honesty and self deprecating humour as well as down to earth practicality, boundless optimism and enthusiasm a refreshing change from some of the 'badass bro' element in the biker press. Can't wait for the next one and I'm sure there'll be more!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2007
If you're into adventure motorcycling, you'll love every word. That said, this is most definitely a book which anybody would enjoy. I chose "Lois On The Loose" as lunchtime reading material for work and it took me about a week to finish, by which time people were quizzing me about my miracle diet. There's not much that can get between me and my grub, but this little gem managed it! Consistently funny, engaging, informative and beautifully written from the scene-setting intro, to the triumphant outro. In other words, one hundred percent entertainment. Nuff said...
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2007
If you're fed up with your boring office job and are a motorbiking adventurer at heart this is a great read. Lois' entertaining descriptive writing makes it an easy read, and you feel as if you're out there experiencing the journey with her. It'll make you feel more determined to get out there and have a go, but at the same time if you can't its an excellent way to get a feel for what its like. Highly recommended and can't wait for the next one.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
If you enjoy motorcycling as I do, you will probably have seen or read ' The Long Way Around' and 'The long Way Down'. Well that was all very well! but I question how much of a true adventure it was when accompanied by a sizable support team of 4X4's and financially supported by BMW and a menagerie of big businesses.
On the other hand there is Lois Pryce, a lady of true pioneering spirit, she does what most of us in a mundane monotonous job only ever dream of, and as such you feel you are with her all through the ups and downs of her journey from top to bottom of the American continent. I for one could not put it down, this real adventure down through America with little or no kit just her trusty Steed and an infectious normality, living on her wits and meeting her occasional companions and the people of this vast continent makes for a great read. I could hardly wait to get my hands on her next book Red Tape and White knuckles.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)