Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
123
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2017
This book opens brightly as the scene is set for the author’s decision to embark on an epic motorcycle journey. Her account of life in the BBC, that she wants to escape from, is laugh out loud funny. The light-hearted approach continues as she starts he journey in Alaska but as she works her way south it starts to wear thin. These type of travelogue books need more to sustain the narrative than repeated anecdotes about latin lotharios, corrupt cops, bike repairs etc... There is very little in this book that tells us about the places she has visited. Instead we get a very narrow perspective contained by her immediate experiences which makes for an underwhelming book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
I read this book out of sequence, having discovered Lois via her third book "Revolutionary Ride" which I heartily recommend. I would compare her to a modern day Eric Newby. Disarmingly charming and has a knack of reporting on her difficulties with understatement and an affinity with her fellow human, regardless of whether they are being helpful, intrusive, obstructive or aggressive. The only thing she will not tolerate is the mundane, which we are all secretly trying to escape. Totally refreshing. Just read it. I've ordered the second book already.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
I met Lois at the local TVAM meeting. This is one bouncy girl!

I liked the story, however I felt the last section (from the Cape of Good Hope to Bueuno Aires) was a bit rushed.

It would have been nice to have a quick update on the characters we met on the digital version at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2011
Iread this book in a couple of days, just couldn't put it down!
The book is a great read, informative, very funny in parts, all in all it's a very good book!
I take my hat off to her for jacking in her boring job at the BBC, and embarking on such a mega ride on a Yamaha Serow trail bike!
It must have been one hell of a journey on such a small motorbike, from Anchorage to the southern tip of South America.
But she seemed to take everything in her stride without too many problems,she even had the company of 2 other women bikers for parts of the trip.
A recommended read for anyone interested in adventure travel, motorcycling, or just wanting a really good read!
I can't wait to start reading her other book, Red tape and White knuckles!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It is well written with shrewd observations of both the landscape and it's inhabitants in a style that is both factual and humorous. Keep `er lit, as they say here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
arrived promptly and as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
As always Lois writes a enjoyable and realistic journey
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2010
Adventure motorcycling has become very mainstream since the adventures of Ewan and Charley on Long Way Round/Down. However motorcycling adventures have been going on since the 1930's when women like Theresa Wallach rode a motorbike and sidecar though the African continent. Lois decided to give up her job at the BBC and ride her 250cc motorcycle from the top of the Americas to very bottom. The ride saw her clock up over 20,000 miles though North and South America. Early on in her trip Lois has to deal with extreme weather in Canada and jobs worthy police which see's her bike get impounded but she gets by. Once she enters into North America she experiences some of the American dream and is joined by a fellow women motorcyclist in LA for the next leg of her journey. Whilst in LA Lois here's some horror stories about some South American countries and she and her travelling companion head across into Mexico with caution.
Thankfully these horror stories never materialist and Lois experiences all the ups,downs, joys, every biker expects when undertaking such adventures. During Lois journey her bike suffers the odd problem but their was always someone willing to lend her a hand. unfortunately towards the end of her journey tragedy does strike for another travelling women biker she meets but you should read the book to discover this.
The fact the Lois completed this journey on such a smaller CC bike is a real testament to her and you can't help but admire Lois throughout the book.
Their are all sorts of Motorcycle adventure books on the market these days and im pretty sure you would will miss out on a great read if you ignore this one.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
Loved it. Very funny but at the same time had a serious note at times. A very plucky lady. Lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2007
I couldn't put this book down and knocked it out in 2 days! It was well composed, intelligent, informative, shocking in places, very, very funny and a true story to boot. Lois has a disarming honesty and self deprecating humour as well as down to earth practicality, boundless optimism and enthusiasm a refreshing change from some of the 'badass bro' element in the biker press. Can't wait for the next one and I'm sure there'll be more!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)