Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
14
Lord Robert: (Tudor Saga)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 May 2017
The book was delivered on the day promised. I enjoyed reading it as I enjoy The Tudors and this gave a different perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2014
Why has this Been renamed? Do they think people are too simple minded to know that gay also means happy? For those that don't know the authors title for this was Gay Lord Robert. I find it insufferable that our language has been mucked around with!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2008
I love this era in history but was really dissapointed by this book. It pails in comparison to Phillipa Gregory's 'The Virgin's Lover' based on the same subject. There is little character development & events happen so suddenly and with negligable impact, for example the execution of Mary Queen of Scots. However, it is very historically accurate, at times so much that it felt like non-fiction book. To me it felt like Plaidy wrote it half heartedly & in a bit of a rush.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2007
A very addictive read and an interseting portrayal of the protagonists. Queen Elizabeth is portrayed through her strength as a queen but also as a woman with an unrelenting love for her Lord Leicester. Definitely worth a read. If you like this then 'Queen of this Realm' is most definitely up your street.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2007
This is the first Jean Plaidy I have read and having studied renaissance literature I was a bit wary. But it was a lovely read. The characterisation of Elizabeth and Robert Dudley bristled with unrequited love and it incorporated historically accurate elements to satisfy the historian in me. I will definitely read other books by Plaidy and in this series in particular.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2012
Set in Tudor times, this Jean Plaidy novel tells the story of Elizabeth I's love affair with the married Lord Robert Dudley and the intrigue that surrounds it.

The story once again portrays the dangerous times of Tudor England and like all other of Jean Plaidy's books very difficult to put down once you start reading it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2015
Jean Plaidy always wrote a splendid story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2014
an entertaining read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2010
with a book about elizabeth I and robert dudley you would think would be full of passion and excitement but this one is very clinical in its dealings with the relationship. the feelings they had for each other doesnt really fly of the page at you as like in previous books when henry was dealing with his wives. a very detailed account but without any emotion. but does leave the door open for the next 2 books about mary queen of scots as plaidy introduces certain events but doesnt go into them in much detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2015
Enjoyable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse