Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
42
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2007
This novel, "Day Watch", follows "Night Watch" and anticipates "Twilight Watch" and "Eternal Watch" (the last title is available already in Russian and German).

Described as Russia's (belated) answer to Tolkien, Lukianenko has created a lively and absorbing narrative evolving around the forces of the Light and the Dark, who, embraced in an eternal battle for the minds and spirits of the human population, share the responsibility to monitor each other's activities to uphold an equilibrium agreed upon a thousand years ago in the "Great Contract". Thus both forces have set up units tasked to control each other, making sure the respective other side observes granted quota of influencing humans: at night, the wizards and shapeshifters of the Light (the Night Watch) will police the streets, while at day it is the vampires and witches of the Dark (the Day Watch) who monitor the Light's activities.

Lukianenko does not simply take a manichaean stand point in his stories where the Light is the absolute Good and the Dark is the absolute Evil, but describes both sides as natural aspects of live and thus willing to go to considerable lenghts to assure their own status (aspiring dominance over the other). A feature Lukianenko uses to infuse the narrative with mysticism is the concept of the 'Twilight' and its several layers through which the forces of Light and Dark can move - unobserved by humans in the 'real world' - always endangered to be sucked into the void of un-being (the third instalment in this series of four will deal more thoroughly with the 'Twilight'). I'm under the impression that this 'Twilight' is the source of power for the two forces, similar to Terry Pratchett's 'light fantastic'.

"Day Watch" continues where "Night Watch" left off, with the same main characters (including initially anti-hero Anton), but with a new plot: an ancient sect of the Dark has resurfaced and attempts to resurrect an ancient and most powerful Dark wizard to finally gain the upper hand. The novel, split into three 'stories' each with a certain aspect-focus of the overall story arch, follows the Light's attempts to apprehend this sect and foil their plot. In the last few chapters, a third force is introduced: a class of judges consisting of members from both sides who hold trial over the events in this book.

Each of the novels feature a pre-prolog stating this story's significance to the cause of the forces of Light and Dark, indicating both sides' actions. The narrative in "Day Watch" is described as being 'harmful' to the cause of both.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
The switch of view is exciting, but i fail to see the difference between the sides that would lead to an eternal conflict with world shattering consequences - both sides, "light" and "dark" seems to behave in much the same way and even hold much the same ideology.
If you liked the first then this is just as good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
Like the first book, this one is also separated into 3 different books, each one written from the perspective of a different character. The first, tells the story of a witch, Alisa, who was introduced in the Night Watch. She seemed like a bitch in that book, but here she has character and you feel sorry for her. The author uses the same easy flow of words, so if you enjoyed the Night Watch, you won't be disappointed with the Day Watch. The second story introduces a strange character and the story has an interesting twist at the end. The whole books gives an interesting view of Moscow and Russian insight. I fully recommend this for any Night Watch fans.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2009
I was uncertain how i would take to the second book, i enjoyed the first immensley. But because i had already associated with the characters in the night watch i thought it might be difficult to change allegencs so to speak as the presumably the Day Watch was going to be written from the side of the Day Watch. But surely enough the author soon had me disliking the night watch and favouring the dark ones. it had a brilliant plot just like the first one and once again i thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2011
The Day Watch is Book 2 of Lukyanenko's series surrounding the supernatural world of "The Others" in Moscow. The series as a whole focuses on the struggle between Good and Evil. The Night Watch (The first book of the series) focuses on those we as the reader would consider to be "The Good Guys." This novel looks at the second of the two watches- to put it in simple terms those on the side of evil.

When I first heard that the author had decided to write about the daywatch, I wasn't sure what to expect. I'd really enjoyed the Night watch due to its exciting plot and characters, so I wasn't sure how I would enjoy a book that forces the reader to examine characters that they know to be bad. However I thoroughly enjoyed it. The author has written in an exciting an engaging way. He presents the characters in an interesting way, rather than writing them to be "Evil" in the truest sense of the world, he focuses on the fact that its their perception of the world and people in it that distinguishes them from the light ones. For example whilst the light ones go out of their way to help and aid others. The Dark Ones believe that every man should be out for themselves and that people get what they deserve and should expect nothing more.

I found myself as a reader understanding their point of view. Lukyanenko seems to bring the aspect of selfishness that everyone possesses and bring it to the forefront of the Daywatch. It makes the characters much more relatable as everyone has a tendancy to be selfish at one point or another.

The structure of the book follows that of The Night Watch. The novel is split into 3 parts. The first is narrated by Alissa, a witch readers are introduced to in The Night Watch. The second and third books alternate between the first person view of a new character Vitaly and third person involving a mixture of characters.

The book as a whole is very well written, Lukyanenko has a talent of creating a story within each part of the book that could stand alone whilst also tying aspects of them together into an overall story arc that spans not only the entire book but also the series.

My only minor criticism of this book is that after the fast paced and engaging story in part 1. the second part is quite slow to get going. I found there were some parts that I wanted to finish quickly to get to the more exciting parts. However readers should persevere, the second story builds to an excellent conclusion and part three is very tense and exciting!

A great read overall!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
I read this from seeing the films of the series, and I can only say that I am absolutely in love with it. I cannot reccommend these books enough. It is an interesting spin on the magic/werewolf/vampire story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Came across this book by accident and wasn't too bothered about reading it but was immediately hooked. The writing style is very different from your usual - possibly due to the translation from the original Russian - but it works well. I particularly liked hearing a Russian's thoughts on his own country and the rest of the world which comes through the main story. The story line itself is clever and believable and the three section structure used that others have discussed is brilliant - two self contained stories linked in the third. Anyway, a very enjoyable book on a lot of levels and I went straight out and bought the rest in the series (all just as good)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2009
Day Watch is the middle book of a trilogy which is now expanding into five novels of the Night Watch series. The series is superb, imaginative and original and although it is advertised as being like Harry Potter and has been compared to Tolkein, the concept is absolutely original and very subtle.

I would advise any parent to a teenage to buy Night Watch, Twilight Watch or Last Watch for their children, but not Day Watch as the story deals with the activities of the evil characters in the community, incudes an attempted gay rape at gun point and a prolonged sex scene.

The other books in the series are understated in the sex and gore field and the emphasis is more on intellectual problem solving and character depiction. The concept of the Others, a group of people who have the ability to step into the Twilight and have powers and actions that are restricted by the Inquisition, who try to keep the peace between the dark and light, is extraordinarily clever and the very Russian way in which the emotional relationships between characters influence their actions makes western novels of the same genre feel cold, detached and lacking in humanity.

I cannot recommend the series enough for an adult audience; I can honestly say that these books are the most fascinating that I have read in a long time, but this particular book is not for youngsters, unlike the rest of the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
This is a good follow-up to the first book in the series, where the plot thickens and the cast of characters increases. It follows the same format as the first book, in that there are three stories, but Anton Gorodetsky is no longer the main focus. The first two stories are written in the first person - the first through a dark witch, and the second through a unique character - but the third is written in the third person, and there are several more passages of this form in the first two stories as well. It is interesting to see this world through the eyes of a Dark Other, and even though the border between the light and the darkness is still somewhat ambiguous, I think the author did a good job of writing from the side of a woman. As in the first book, there is plenty of action and plenty of mystery, so the pages just seem to fly by. There is a lot (too much, in my opinion) of moralizing in these books, but they are not deep. There are some good observations, and an occasional piece of wisdom, but I read them because they are exciting, entertaining and unpredictable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2011
I picked up the first book in this trilogy at random as I was looking for a new author and liked the sound of the name. After the first 2 chapters I was hooked. The Day Watch is a mirror image of The Night Watch. It shows situations from an entirely different perspective.

I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend the whole trilogy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here