Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
34
4.5 out of 5 stars
Traction Man Meets Turbodog
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 May 2017
The children loved this book, exactly what they asked for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2017
FAB ! x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2017
👌🏻
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2014
My 6 year son old loves traction man and scrubbing brush and i would recommend the series to anyone. Inspiring and imaginative!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 October 2010
This book is the sequel to "Traction Man is here" but can be read standalone (it was the first one our family read together). It follows the imagination of a little boy playing with his traction man (it's like an action just better dressed).

It really is rather clever as you have the comments of the parents in the background (eg "...and please stay out of the mud today") followed by traction man and his faithful companion scrubbing brush engaged in their mission.

However, due to scrubbing brush getting just too dirty after the arduous climb up the compost heap, the boy's parents throw him in the dustbin (gasp!). Cue a new companion - turbo dog - to help our intrepid hero discover the location of the missing pet.

It includes the trade mark phrase "all in a day's work..." as traction man achieves his feats and finishes with the classic "and they are prepared for anything...".

Of course traction man wins the day by rescuing scrubbing brush and fending off the wicked vegetable peel with nothing but a bottle of GERMO and turbo dog proves to be no replacement for the erstwhile scrubbing brush.

All great tongue-in-cheek fun that'll bring back happy memories to dads of playing with their action man (unless of course you didn't have an action man OR he was involved in some freak road-crossing accident).

This book does require a certain age level to "get" what's going on - so it works fine for my children (aged 9, 6 and 4½) though the 4 year old took a little more explanation for her to understand what was happening - but she loves it now. Always a favourite at bedtime.

I have to confess that I think the first book is better (and clearer for younger ones) - but it's probably because he says "all in a days work" more often...

Enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2014
Hmmmm. Quite old fashioned. I used it for teaching my class. They loved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2009
A great book. My class of 5 year olds loved it, and constantly request to hear it again. It appealed to the boys, girls and some Dad's. Great illustrations.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2014
I ordered this when looking for a book to use with year 1 pupils for a superhero topic. It was recommended on a teacher's website and had good newspaper reviews.

I will not be using it with my class except possibly to discuss the safe storage of cleaning fluids. Traction man uses ammonia cleaning fluid (surely this must be kept out of the reach of children) to zap germs.

As for the 'naked' 'dollies' (they are without clothes throughout the book while Traction Man's clothes are described) looking after turbo dog around the campfire with a fully clad traction man just left me feeling uncomfortable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2011
My 6 year old loves this book, but not as much as me! At first glance it seems like any other kids story book but after a while the detail in the illustrations start to jump out at you. A brilliant book for asking questions and observing what is going on around the written text.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 August 2011
Mini Grey is one of those authors who comes up with something not only unusual but something that really is a bit of a cult classic in the field of childrens titles. Here in this, the second Traction Man story he undergoes an adventure in the garden with a firm mission in mind as well as objectives that really keeps this title moving along at quite a pace. It's quirky, it's a lot of fun and when you add into it the nostalgic feel for the reader (assuming it's a parent) it's a story that will quite quickly find a way into your own heart alongside the childrens.

All in this was as much fun for me as for my nephews and whilst they were a little confused with it, when I showed them one of my old Action Man's (yep the Side to side eye ones in his scuba gear) their eyes soon lit up. Great fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse