Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
30
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2009
A great book. My class of 5 year olds loved it, and constantly request to hear it again. It appealed to the boys, girls and some Dad's. Great illustrations.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 October 2010
This book is the sequel to "Traction Man is here" but can be read standalone (it was the first one our family read together). It follows the imagination of a little boy playing with his traction man (it's like an action just better dressed).

It really is rather clever as you have the comments of the parents in the background (eg "...and please stay out of the mud today") followed by traction man and his faithful companion scrubbing brush engaged in their mission.

However, due to scrubbing brush getting just too dirty after the arduous climb up the compost heap, the boy's parents throw him in the dustbin (gasp!). Cue a new companion - turbo dog - to help our intrepid hero discover the location of the missing pet.

It includes the trade mark phrase "all in a day's work..." as traction man achieves his feats and finishes with the classic "and they are prepared for anything...".

Of course traction man wins the day by rescuing scrubbing brush and fending off the wicked vegetable peel with nothing but a bottle of GERMO and turbo dog proves to be no replacement for the erstwhile scrubbing brush.

All great tongue-in-cheek fun that'll bring back happy memories to dads of playing with their action man (unless of course you didn't have an action man OR he was involved in some freak road-crossing accident).

This book does require a certain age level to "get" what's going on - so it works fine for my children (aged 9, 6 and 4½) though the 4 year old took a little more explanation for her to understand what was happening - but she loves it now. Always a favourite at bedtime.

I have to confess that I think the first book is better (and clearer for younger ones) - but it's probably because he says "all in a days work" more often...

Enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
I ordered this when looking for a book to use with year 1 pupils for a superhero topic. It was recommended on a teacher's website and had good newspaper reviews.

I will not be using it with my class except possibly to discuss the safe storage of cleaning fluids. Traction man uses ammonia cleaning fluid (surely this must be kept out of the reach of children) to zap germs.

As for the 'naked' 'dollies' (they are without clothes throughout the book while Traction Man's clothes are described) looking after turbo dog around the campfire with a fully clad traction man just left me feeling uncomfortable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Mini Grey had kept the humour going as traction man seeks to save his beloved sidekick, scrubbing brush. I wasn't keen on turbo dog (think doctor who k9) but the style is the same. A fun read but maybe more appealing to boys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
My 6 year old loves this book, but not as much as me! At first glance it seems like any other kids story book but after a while the detail in the illustrations start to jump out at you. A brilliant book for asking questions and observing what is going on around the written text.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Mini Grey is one of those authors who comes up with something not only unusual but something that really is a bit of a cult classic in the field of childrens titles. Here in this, the second Traction Man story he undergoes an adventure in the garden with a firm mission in mind as well as objectives that really keeps this title moving along at quite a pace. It's quirky, it's a lot of fun and when you add into it the nostalgic feel for the reader (assuming it's a parent) it's a story that will quite quickly find a way into your own heart alongside the childrens.

All in this was as much fun for me as for my nephews and whilst they were a little confused with it, when I showed them one of my old Action Man's (yep the Side to side eye ones in his scuba gear) their eyes soon lit up. Great fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
The first of the series I came accross by accident and just had to order the others. The books are clever and witty. The illustrations are excellent. Every time I read them to the children we find something new we haven't seen before. I can't wait for more to come out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2011
Excellent book, my 6 year old Son's project at school this term is traction Man. Book Week today his class had to dress up as book character and he has dressed up as traction man! Highly recommend this book for boys and girls alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
This is another book written by Mini Grey that children want to read to find out what else happens to Traction man.It would be good when buying any childrens picture book if you could always see inside.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
Good old Traction Man! Have bought many copies of this book since it was first published and it's such a favourite that people keep on keeping it - so I buy another. Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Need customer service? Click here