Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
51
4.4 out of 5 stars
Mystery Mile
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 August 2017
This audio book is an abridged reading of Margery Allingham's crime novel 'Mystery Mile', excellently read by Philip Franks. It has great entertainment value but I found it too drastically abridged to be enjoyed as a crime mystery. Better to read the book if you have the time! For me, as an aural accompaniment to the tiresome chore of doing my annual accounts, it was a lifesaver.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
I'be read and re-read Mystery Mile many times, and it's still a delight.

It's the second novel to feature Campion, and the first that puts him center stage, but he is already a fully developed character, as is the incomparable factotum Lugg.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
A super book to read .kept tied to it to the very end .such a great story and so sad to Finnish it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
An old book but still a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Great tale brilliantly told. Exiting but at the same time comforting. Something Margery Allingham excels at!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2001
Quite frankly anyone who could come up with a gang called after a man named 'Simister' and then describe it as 'sinister' has got it coming. That aside, this is probably one of the best Campion stories with lots of action and a good twist at the end. There are also lots of local yokels, two love stories and a bit of dodgy fortune telling. Not to mention a mysterious suicide and some very important quicksand. What more could you want?
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2011
It is pure coincidence that this, one of Allingham's earliest novels about Albert Campion, was the first one I ever listened to. I have long been a fan of murder mysteries and have more than my fair share of books and audiobooks by Agatha Christie, Dorothy L Sayers, P D James etc. One day I went to my local bookshop looking for something new and picked out this little gem.

Philip Franks is, in my opinion, an excellent choice of reader. His vocal range is really quite impressive and he captures Campion's supposed slight naivety perfectly.

The plot is delightful - murder, theft, betrayal... It's all there!

This is a worthy item for any murder mystery collection, as are all the Allingham audiobooks I have bought thus far. There are now only two of her stories missing from my collection ;-)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2016
ARC honest review for Bloomsbury USA books via NetGalley.

It is always a pleasure to revisit with old friends. And to be able to go back to the early days of Mr Albert Campion career is always a delight.

If you like country houses, mazes, murder, mystery and adventure...there is no better place to find them, than at Mystery Mile on the Suffolk coast!

Swithin (St Swithin) Cush final message to Campion is a Red Knight and....Danger!

Ms Allingham's Albert Campion books are classics!

If you like the review and would like to read reviews on other books I have made, visit my blog at [...] like, comment and follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
If this is a good example of Margery Allingham's style ( it is the first I have read) I don't want any more of it. A man holds a secret which we are never told and he does not know himself, and the villains' attempt to kill him before he divulges it all fail. Campion throws a mouse on to an electrocuted stage and thus saves this man, whom he hides in a secluded house,, from which he suddenly disappears. The Police are not to be told of any of this. The are several other non sequiturs. Nor did I like Campion's style of clever-clever English.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2007
Intrepid hero with attitude takes on subtle forces of darkness with the doubtful help of the comic, the profane and the reassuringly stupid character supporting cast. The plot rackets along with the total assurance of a Mistress of the genre. The characters are always interestingly original and Albert Campion is a triumph of the art deco period. Margery Allingham cannot be said to be underated but she is certainly under celebrated.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Sweet Danger
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here