Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars

on 3 January 2015
I loved these books as a child, can't wait to read them again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2006
This trilogy is another brilliant story by Kate Thompson. Tess is a switcher - she can change into any animal at will.
In the first one, "Switchers", a huge ice storm is moving south from the north pole, and Tess meets another Switcher. They must find out what is up there.
In "Midnight's Choice", Tess meets yet another switcher, who has discovered a dark side of switching. But will Tess want to take that path?
In "Wild Blood", Tess's 15th birthday is coming up, after which she will no longer be able to switch. She has to decide what she will be.
Everyone likes the idea of being able to change into any animal, and combined with the fluency and excellent atmosphere in these books, it makes a very good book. At times it is quite funny what they get up to in animal forms, at times it is sad, but throughout it is totally gripping. I have read the trilogy 3 times now!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2008
I'm currently reviewing children's literature as part of a degree course in childhood and youth studies. I came across Kate Thompson after reading `Last of the High Kings' and decided to read the Switchers Trilogy out of curiosity. Quite simply, this is an excellent collection of three first-class novels. The plots are exciting and the characters are superbly drawn. It is obvious quite early on in the first book (Switchers) that this is about an adolescent search for identity and in my opinion Kate has been very brave in tackling this theme in a work for young readers. Theme and premise aside though any child would, I'm sure, find this book hard to put down and having the full trilogy in one volume is an added bonus. I'm surprised that the stories haven't been adapted for film or television (as far as I know) but, who knows, maybe they will be.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
I remember reading this book when i was but a sprog and it must have been the nostalgia goggles that made it seem so amazing.

The idea itself is sound, the characters are well written if a bit underdeveloped in places (though the US Military seems to be caricatured beyond belief) and the powerset that Kevin and Tess has is amazebaws.

Unfortunately, their intelligence seems not to be.

I don't want to give away too much but i think the author fell into the trap of making her characters too powerful too soon. They kind of hit their peak in the Switching scales pretty early on and then appeared to 'forget' this massive power that they were sitting on for subsequent books which made them seem dumb at best.

Some books span the age gap easily, appealing to adults as well as children, but not this one.

This is a good precursor to the Animorphs but that series was better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2006
Switchers is a brilliant young adult book telling the story of Tess and a strange boy named Kevin. They both share the unique ability of Switching( being able to change their shape at will). They travel together to destroy the Krools which are threatening to put everyones lives in great danger. The creatures are of ice and snow plus much bigger than anything either of them have seen before and the adventurers need to cast away sense and reasoning to defeat the Krools........

This is a really good read and for those who like fiction and adventure. Enjoy!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2000
Tess is a 'switcher' she can turn into being different animals. She thinks she is the only one who can do this but then she meets another switcher, and together they save the world from the beginning of a new ice age. A REALLY BRILL BOOK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Very good, can get complicated at times. It was great to read about people being able to 'switch' from people into animals and actually help others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2006
luve the switchers trilogy! its the bst!!! read it all within a second cuz its that gud
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here