Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
92
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

It's a long time since I last read `Arabella' and I had totally forgotten how good it is. Arabella is the daughter of a Yorkshire parson who is invited to London for the Season to stay with her Godmother. Arabella's family are not well off and her mother has been saving for years so that she can have new clothes for her stay. During her journey to London accompanied by a neighbour's governess their carriage breaks down close to one of the properties belonging to Mr Robert Beaumaris. Arabella is not impressed with this gentleman because she over hears him and his guest talking about her.

Her reaction to the overheard comment stores up trouble for herself as she suggests that she is an heiress. As a result she is a huge success in London and Mr Beaumaris goes out of his way to make her popular. I loved both Arabella and Robert and actually had a lot of sympathy for her much tried Godmother. The dialogue - especially between Robert and Arabella is marvellously done being both amusing and natural.

One of my favourite characters is Ulysses, the mongrel dog - but to explain how he comes into the story would spoil the plot. I think `Arabella' is one of my favourite Heyer romances and Arabella herself one of my favourites among her younger heroines. She knows her own mind and has very definite principles which she will not go against. But she is not put off by society's conventions and doesn't believe any of Robert's deliberate flattery. If you have not tried Georgette Heyer before then this book would be a good one to start with.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
The books by Georgette Heyer are the best type of Regency novel you can read. The characters are good and the stories move at a good pace. They are the kind of book you can imagine almost being there in a time warp, watching life go on below whilst enjoying a nice cup of tea with your feet up on the sofa.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
This is one of my favourite Georgette Heyer novels which I have bought to replace the hardback in my complete library of her works. This is a long term project as none of her books are that cheap. Surprisingly I found only one error in this version where the wrong word has been used. I have written pointing the error out as usual.

The merits of this book is the entirely understandable claim of the heroine to be fabulously rich to put down the hero, which results in a disastrous inability to admit her poverty to him and the entertainment is in the stratagems to conceal the truth and the gradual realisation that they are both attracted to the other coupled with her determination to do right by the less fortunate. I never tire of reading this book for the humour and the romance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2016
One of Heyer's best. Full of period detail,especially of the London fashions, but also really funny. It's rare that a book makes me laugh out loud, but this one did.

The thing I like best about Heyer's characters is their lack of self-deception. In so many romance novels, there are endless variations of characters who fail to spot the obvious: namely that they love the other person and that the other person loves them.

Heyer sensibly uses other means to keep her potential lovers separated. A tall story of wealth, created on the spur of the moment to insult a rich man who is well used to women using all kinds of fake accidents and excuses to make his acquaintance, comes back to haunt Arabella when she realises that she could love this man, but will have to confess to her lack of money after the 'heiress' story has spread all around London.

The real joy of this tale lies in the fact that Mr Beaumaris spots the lie right from the start, but enjoys playing along with it.

It's Araballa's principles, a result of her upbringing in a vicarage that really draw her to Beaumaris's attention. If she believes something to be right, she will do it regardless of what society thinks. To a man who is so rich that he can ignore society himself, but also suffers from everyone always trying to imitate and flatter him, this is entertaining and a big point in her favour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
A light hearted story with twists and turns. The charming story of a young Yorkshire lass who takes the ton by storm. And after all the barriers in their way she finds happiness with her own Prince Charming. Sheer joy to read !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
I think this might be my fave Heyer novel so far, it's enchanting to read, and I couldn't put it down for a minute!
It's about beautiful but relitively poor Arabella Tallant who gets to go to London for the season to come out, under the guardianship of her godmother, Lady Bridlington. On the way, she is obliged to take shelter under the house of a gentleman called Mr Beaumaris who is having dinner with his friend, Lord Fleetwood. Mr Beaumaris thinks she is just another girl trying to get hold of his wealth by some elaborate scheme, and Arabella, so annoyed with him, and thinking that she'll never see him again, pretends to be an heiress of enornmous wealth.
When she arrives in London, she finds that her reputatuion has got there faster thanks to Lord Fleetwood's big mouth and soon, every dandy, buck, fop and fourtune hunter are after her. And she meets Mr Beaumaris again, who knows the truth, but lives in hope of Arabella falling in love with him and telling him the truth, unknowing of the fact that he is already half in love with her himself...I know, SO romantic!
The ending ties up well with Robert Beaumaris taking care of the mess that Arabella has got herself into and that of her brother, young Bertram Tallant. You can't help but fall for this hero yourself and the ending is so satisfying, and Beaumaris is all knowing and arranges their marraige...sigh...I can't praise this book enough, just buy it, read it and you'll see what I mean. Just Fantastic!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
Excellent price - prompt delivery and good packaging -Loved the story - so comfortingly Regency Heyer- you are caught up in the plot and loose yourself in their world which she so brilliantly recreates.
Thank you
Rosemary
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
Love this book- romantic and interesting but also very funny. Georgette Heyer is the best, she takes you away and cures worry, low mood and sleeplessness. I also love the neat way these audio books are produced to be small and convenient for use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2016
I've read all of Georgette Heyer's books and enjoyed almost all of them, so I knew what I was buying. Only trouble is with these modern re-issues that the typesetting is careless, leading to stupid errors - but I buy a book for the story & can easily gloss over daft mistakes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
As a fan of Georgette Heyer this was bought to replace an old copy which had fallen to pieces from being read so may times. A great bit of historical fiction from Miss Heyer. She never fails to delight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here