Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
13
3.8 out of 5 stars
Dance Of Death
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 August 2007
A highly intelligent maniac plans to stop the world and return it to the natural state of 500 years earlier - shutting down electricity, fuel supplies, water - and he doesn't care who gets hurt along the way. Mike Burke - an American living in Dublin - becomes embroiled in the search for the madman and will go to any lengths to find him before it is too late. It builds up to an unbelievably gripping explosive climax.A totally gripping novel - highly recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2008
Having not read any of John Case's books before, I liked the look of the this book, science fiction...maybe the chance of some action. Glad I went for it in the end, from start to finish this book has almost everything, action, comedy, compelling story and even a little bit of romance.

Jack Wilson is the main character (an ex-con) is out and looking to put an end to the world. He goes in search of "Tesla" technology, which has devastating capabilities and meets some shady characters along the way.

Then there is Mike Burke the man who has taken it upon himself to go in search of Wilson after his fathers law firm is closed down by the FBI (Due to Jack wilson). What starts out as a quest to save his fathers business turns into much much more.

The only part of the book which was disappointing from my point of view is the ending which I felt was a bit rushed and could have been made much more involving for the reader. But all in all a book well worth reading
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2007
I did not overly like his last novel "murder artist" so took a punt with this one, and was pleasantly surprised.

The story is based on 2 main characters, an ex-con engineer; Wilson who is infatuated with Tesla's inventions and a scheme to make a WMD. This takes the character through a whole spectrum of terrorists from SE Asia, to Africa, Middle East and Eastern Europe with the usual cartel of drugs, guns, and diamonds.

The second character plot is about Burke a photo journalist who has lost most of his enthusiam in life until threatened by the FBI to help trace some dirty money, and rescue his father in laws legal practice at the same time.

The two characters paths cross with a fair amount of adventure that we come to expect from Case and the story is woven tightly to keep the pages turning.

A good read, and recommended.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2012
If I were asked to rate the first 80-100 pages of this book, I'd give it 5/5 without question. We're introduced to the main characters, their histories, their methods and all manner of interesting and vivid activities and beliefs. It's really well written also, all shaping up to be a sensational ride.

Then, everything starts to fall apart. Main characters get killed. Interesting ones, that I really wanted to see more of. Ones that could have been a source of humour and all kinds of plotlines, twists and character/relationship developments later on. It takes a brave writer to kill off a main character he has developed, there has to be more good characters able to replace them. Here no such thing occurs. These random inexplicable deaths are where the warning signs about this novel began for me.

Nearly the entire book after the start seems to be filled with descriptions of research or trying to find people. Now, normally in a book there might be a few paragraphs about what was done to find this person. Or if they want to, they may include little adventures about where the person went to as about and find them. But they only include the exciting bits. I mean, actually researching and stalking a person is incredibly boring, right?

And yet that's what this book is a lot of the time. To the author it seems every google search is an exciting adventure. If they type the wrong thing and then the right thing, it's all worth writing about. Just pull in random strangers like a bartender and ask them for information on another bartender who might know something where we finally get our clue that far-fetchedly lets us track down the person. This might be ok at the start. But it seems Burke is doing this right throughout the entire novel.

I expected a wild plot. I expected a James Bond style novel, where Burke would end up in Wilson's underground lair or something, and he would ask why Burke couldn't have left things alone, what was he only some kind of clerk. And he'd explain in detail how his view of utopia and how it came about. Forget all those crap references to Ayn Rand and the native Indians (he can include a paragraph on the native indians if he wants). And Zero and Khalid would be like Bee-Bop and Rock-Steady style characters. Meanwhile at home Belov would be trying to figure out what the hell was going on, and arrive in the nick of time... but in a wild twist we find that Burke had been so convinced by this guy's appeal to why natural things were best and how humans were destroying the planet that he is now on Burke's side. And maybe the Russian government and US government and Chinese government are brought in to try find compromises with this guy to prevent him from destroying the world, and Burke acts as the mediator between them. And Burke thinks in a sort of ironic way about how when it came down to it it wasn't much different from his old job - mediating between the supposed good guys and supposed bad guys.

4/5ths of the way through the book, when we should be building up to the climax of the fiendish plot of world armageddon, Burke is still trawling through the internet looking on insights to Wilson's "psychology" and for the history of the native Indians which we get every detail about etc. I don't know how anyone can find that exciting. Neither do we care about all the mundane processes of mail order ukrainian brides, it's not even thematic and barely develops his character. Another part of the book that was a real let down for me was when not far from the end, a certain prominent character (won't say so as not to spoil), after a massive build-up to the scene... said he didn't actually even care about Wilson anymore and he wasn't up on his priorities list at all. I mean it was just ridiculous, after all that. That's when I knew the rest of the book would be very uninspiring. I don't care what some random nobody's detailed reaction at the airport was or meaningless details in what's supposed to be the climax of the novel.

The stuff about Tesla's work was fine for a while, but got way too detailed for its own good. Tesla's weapon is only a plot device, not the plot itself. All we have to know about is how powerful it is, and about the waves, not go on and on about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
This is one of the few books I just couldn't be bothered to hear to the end. I gave it a couple of chapters and became terminally bored by the tedious details - 'he took a piece of pitta and dug it into a mound of .......'. closely followed by 'he rolled an olive around his mouth & spat the pit....' Who cares? it's a kind of tic of many modern American writers. I suppose they feel they are setting the scene but I find it immensely irritating. Read Raymond Chandler to see how to do it properly! End of rant - and thanks for letting me return it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
As usual, John Case's stories are gripping and keep you wanting to go to the next page.He may have missed a trick, by not adding the terrorists in the search for Jack Wilson, considering he'd ripped them off for 3 million dollars. I'm sorry I've only got one of his novels left to read. Surprised none of them have been made into films.
I like the way he uses the technique of his heroes painstakingly research one clue after another.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
Beautifully crafted, sordid and frightening...It goes at full speed the whole time. The end is very satisfying...I Looove John Case's novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
A very gripping story which keeps your interest right to the end.It follows the level of other John Case books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
Not as fast moving as others in the collection,but if your a fan of the author then you'll enjoy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
Doesn't make it clear that this is the same book as Ghost Dancer- one UK the other American
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here