Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
4.7 out of 5 stars
Caesar (Masters of Rome)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 September 2017
Came late to this series.... couldn't stop reading them.... brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
This again follows the marvelous story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2017
A truly amazing book - I have read the series several times now - the Gallic campaign possibly the pinnacle of Caesars life is related in great detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 February 2007
There's a 5 year gap between the end of the last novel in this 6 book series (Caesar's Women) and this one: Caesar is in Gaul, and finds his ties in Rome being cut. Instead he throws himself into the Gallic campaigns which are described in minute and enthralling detail (based on Caesar's own commentaries).

I don't know how McCullough does it, but she manages to render military campaigns, legion's rebellions etc absolutely fascinating! This isn't by any means an objective look at either Caesar or Roman imperialism, and she is unashamedly on Caesar's side, but somehow it works fabulously.

Back in Rome the Senate led by the vacillating Cicero and neurotic Cato and undermining Caesar, and the book leads inevitably and inexorably to Caear's crossing of the Rubicon.

I can't praise this book enought - not as history (which it doesn't purport to be, though it does stick to the sources - albeit in an interpretative way) but as sheer story-telling.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 September 2011
This book covers Caesar in his prime, first in the conquest of Gaul and then in the Civil War with Pompey. To my amazement, I have not tired one bit of this series and simply couldn't stop reading this one.
In this volume, the author concentrates on Caesar's action and military techniques and they are indeed fascinating. For example, in the siege of Alesia, Caesar faced threats from within the citadel and from far vaster forces without, at his flank. SO he built a kind of defensive/offensive plankway - a ring around the citadel that could be attacked and defended from both sides and starved the occupants out while holding off hostile reinforcements. This was totally new in military history, as McCUllough explians in vivid detail and action. Though I have never been one to enjoy military history, I found myself cheering for Caesar and in awe of his creativity.

Much less is devoted in this volume to who Caesar was and why he did what he did, which were explored in the earlier volumes. Nonetheless, the personalities of his assistants - the cruel Labienus, the indolent yet growing Anthony (and his huge crotch) and at least a score of others - come through in great detail and with remarkable historical accuracy. The reader is treated to how Caesar managed them all. THe counterpoint of this volume is Pompey the Great, whose flaws and pretentions are magnified with age. While I was less convinced by this portrait, it is still very interesting. FInally, the portrait of the Gauls (and their brash leader Vercingetorix) is very well drawn and informative, as is the portrayal of the young Cleopatra struggling to maintain herself on the throne.

As I have said before, the measure of success for me is that I want to go back to the classical sources to learn more. Warmly recommended, both for the action and for the learning about vanished worlds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2007
I've had the pleasure of reading all the Masters of Rome series in order one after the other and I've found it a wonderful experience! I love McCullough's style of writing - she makes the whole period come to life and manages to get some great history into her work. Its obvious she's done tremendous research for all these books.

It's also obvious that she's very much in love with Caesar! I'd agree that he was an amazing human being - no doubt - but I have to say I could fall for McCullough's version of him myself - although I doubt he was as squeaky clean as she portrays him!!!

Highly recommended for anyone interested in the Roman republic and in politics in general.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 6 August 2016
Things have finally reached boiling point in Rome accentuated by the absence of the First Man, Julius Caesar. His violent campaigns against the Gauls which cause the rising under Vercingetorix place both wealth and loyal legions in his hands. The optimate opposition in Rome see the risks but perceive themselves as powerful enough to treat Caesar badly and manoeuvre Pompey into being their stalking horse. By this stage in Colleen McCullough's series we are heading into the better known areas of Roman history, but the story continues to have pace and drive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 October 2007
Colleen McCullough was born in Australia. A neurophysicist, she established the department of neurophysiology at the Royal North Shore Hospital in Sydney She then worked as a researcher and teacher at Yale Medical School for ten years. She is the author of the record-breaking international bestseller The Thorn Birds and her series of books on Rome have also been bestsellers. Colleen lives on Norfolk Island in the Pacific with her husband.

Colleen McCullough has been one of my favourite authors, every since I read the book The First Man in Rome and then eagerly awaited the next in the series and then the next and so on. Caesar is the fifth book in the Masters of Rome Series.

The book charts the life of arguably the most famous man from ancient history. It begins n 54 BC and the star of certainly the greatest man of his time is rising. He is claiming victory after victory in his race through Gaul. However, although the victories are gained in the name of the Republic, many of the most important men in Rome are terrified. No Roman general has ever before brought his legions to the gates of Rome and they feel he must be destroyed before he can take the city and name himself as Dictator . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2003
I agree utterly, a_mccormack, about the spell-checking issue ... a shame, as it occasionally distracted me from what is once again a first-rate book. Caesar's brilliant Gallic campaigns are described with exactly the right amount of detail; enough to immerse, but not enough to overwhelm. The ongoing development of GJC is fascinating, as is the depiction of the boni (am I the only person who wishes she could travel back in time and strangle Cato and Bibulus? And even dear Magnus too?) and their machinations. The reader is once again placed firmly on Caesar's side, and that is no bad thing. Roll on the paperback version of The October Horse!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
Having read all the books in the "Masters of Rome" series...many of which I obtained when in USA due to lack of availability here in UK I was really pleased to see them on the Kindle at last and bought the lot which I am happily reading in sequence....Caesar like all the books can be read as a stand alone book but its is far better to read in sequence...What Mz McCullough has done is Novelized History and brought the people who lived then and the events back to life...Novelizing History is only ok IF as Mz McCullough has done ensured that the timelines and the events as well as customs & Laws of the time are adhered to...in fact I could recommend any serious student of the history of Rome to read these novels as they give a very accurate description of events that led Rome from being a republic and how individuals came to the forefront such as Julius Caesar, Pompey etc to end up with an Emperor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Fortune's Favourites (Masters of Rome)
£8.41
The Grass Crown (Masters of Rome)
£12.99
First Man In Rome (Masters of Rome)
£11.99
The October Horse (Masters of Rome)
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here