Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
61
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2009
As a retired English teacher, I found this book answered all those questions that have flashed through the mind over the years about how language developed.It is clearly and concisely written and keeps the reader's interest by the well planned order in which it tackles this huge question taking the reader gently' step by step' on the discovery. It is brilliantly written.

An interesting side-effect of reding this book is that I'm much more tolerant of modern, modish, fashionable innovations in English than I previously was (I guess a probable weakness in most English teachers!) seeing change now as inevitable; the change will either last or it won't (e.g. the increasing and completely incorrect use of the word 'infamous' for 'famous' - the urge of many/most,for effect,to use a longer word than the simple original - even if it's wrong! I've heard this twice on BBC reports, "...celebrations of the infamous Battle of Trafalgar" being one example). In the meantime, I've realised there are more important things in life to get hot under the collar about.

Geraint Davies
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2016
A very interesting book but unfortunately all of the quotes and tables of examples given in the book appear in font so tiny that it is unreadable. So every time the author referenced another language to make a point, I needed a magnifying glass to see what he said.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
Amazing book for linguistics enthusiasts who do not know where to start reading!
Can be slowly progressing sometimes, but necessary this was necessary to understand better the rest.
I would absolutely recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
This is one of the few books I can really say have widened my horizons dramatically while simultaneously being a rather easy read.

I gained an overview of how and why languages change with time. The general principles that seem to apply universally were illustrated with specific historic examples from old documents in English, German and other languages, giving a nice balance between overview and detail.

To me, this book was worth many times it's purchase price of around £7.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
Excellent introduction to the topic of language for the layman; I couldn't have hoped for a better book on a topic I've always been so interested in. All thanks to a mention of the book by Stephen Fry on one of his blog posts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
the book is written in a fun way to read, and enriching the mind and the spirit. the source of the language is mysterious and to see such a broad view of the possibilities is simply wonderful... recommended it to so many friends!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
This is a very engaging book that gets us to think about how language is used, and created as it is spoken as well as the various methods that lead to its gradual evolution into different forms. I don't know how to write this without making it sound dry, when in fact this book is very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
I publish on this subject. I agree with most of his findings, but it reviews the state of play rather than providing anything new. It all needs stating because it diverges from Chomsky, who has dominated the field for the last 40 years

e-Reader Power Adaptor, Kindle UK (Type G) USB charger (for Kindle...
Amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
The Unfolding Of LanguageAnyone, who has an interest in any aspect of language and its development, would welcome this book in their collection. The author traces his interest in the history of the morphology of languages to an irregularity in the conjugation of a noun in a Latin class at school. His knowledge of world languages, from which he gives examples to illustrate his thesis, is truly staggering, His description of the possible ways in which all parts of speech and syntax can be developed from' an initial "Me Tarzan, You Jane" scenario is entirely convincing. I should add, that having bought a Kindle version of the book I was very disappointed as some of the tables were not legible. I would have asked for a refund but seem to have left it too late.

If you know someone who loves language, this would be an ideal stocking filler.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2008
A tour de force! Not only has Deutscher produced a rigorous and compelling model of the way languages evolve and mutate, but he communicates this in fluid prose that means this is a great read with none of the linguistic clumsiness we have become accustomed to from the likes of Steve Pinker.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)