Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
594
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2017
That this book seems dated can hardly be denied; it was written, after all, nearly a century ago. But that its predictions are becoming more and more pressing can also not be denied.
Aldous Huxley wrote Brave New World at a time of disillusionment with the prevailing order of things, a time in which people were increasingly adopting a style of life that rejected the convention, including dabbling in the drug culture of the time.
The new 'orthodoxy' depicted in the novel is one in which stable relationships like marriage are despised; sex at every oppportunity was de rigueur (accompanied by compulsory contraception). Children were not conceived, born and raised in nuclear families,but 'manufactured' in production lines according to demand, each child carefully tailored for its due place in the world by biochemical adjustments at various stages of the production line. Embryos were 'pre-destined' for a role as alphas, betas, gammas, deltas and epsilons; alphas being the most privileged class and epsilons being the least, functioning as little more than automata. Each child was 'programmed' for contentment with its pre-ordained status and life.

It is at this point that Brave New World strikes me as having an incisive relevance for our own time. The profile of skills required in the workplace is changing fast. The artisan skills which formerly gave millions a stake in society are fast being carried out on an industrial scale by computer-controlled machinery. How are we to prepare our population for the very different world that might lie ahead. This has explosive potential for political dissent. Are we to look to Huxley as a warning? or as a model?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
It's quite extraordinary to think this book was first published in the early 1930s. Parts of it feel just around the corner even now.
A beautifully crafted work of dark humour and foreboding, Huxley takes us to a future ( we don't know how far ahead as the year is given as AF631.) where humans are factory farmed. Their future caste established from conception, by selective nourishment or poisoning of the foetus throughout its growth (in a bottle).

Family doesn't exist, the very thought is repugnant. Children are conditioned to behave as befits the caste. Alpha pluses run the world with Epsilon semi-morons at the bottom of the ladder. All are kept in line with a dose of "soma" a happy pill that keeps the population under control.

No one really cares for anyone, everyone sleeps with everyone and the world is full of pretty,plastic music and calming aromas.

The question is what would happen if a normal person (a savage) dropped into this perfect world?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 January 2016
I love the fact that this eversion has reproduced the iconic cover of the original book. I also like Margaret Attwood's introduction putting this classic into a more modern context.

I first read the book in the 1960's. It impressed me then. It seemed very near futuristic. It's one I've read since and found greater relevance and understanding with each reading. Bearing in mind it was first published in the early 1930's it's interesting to revisit this astonishing work; a satirical exploration of society's values in a dystopian world have, in some instances, become reality. State controls over technological and scientific advance, entertainment machines to control leisure, state censorship and state control over reproductive rights.

Huxley's work is a well deserved classic. It's impossible to define it by character or plot. It defies description. Buy it, read it and be frightened. I'm delighted that it's now to hand as an ebook.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Not a big fan of this. Just my personal opinion but I really don't like Huxley's writing style, seems a bit obvious to me. I didn't once find myself admiring the way he had written something. This book is just for the story really, which is only marginally interesting because it is unusual and I like dystopian fiction. In my opinion this may be the only reason it is so widely known and studied, because it presented a vision of a future that at the time evoked a sense of fear, particularly because of the advances being made in medicine and technology. None of the characters are particularly engaging or three-dimensional. Each to their own though, you may love it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
The book was delivered on time (3 days after ordering). The quality of the print is good, although after reading the book I noticed some minor grammatical errors (words misspelt), but there were very few. As for the book, the story is fantastic. I am a huge fan of George Orwells '1984' and I was wondering how could this novel be any different, but to my surprise the book was very original and the narrative took a slightly different approach compared to Orwells.

The narrative is based in a future dystopian society were all it's citizens are happy consumers, engaging in daily social promiscuity and daily doses of 'soma'; the drug that delivers instant happiness with no negative effects, creating a controlled society free of unrest and instability. With the use of endless social conditioning from young ages, people feel no need to revolt. The story follows characters who begin to question the society they live in and by befriending a savage 'John' they start to learn more about themselves.

Compared to '1984', 'Brave New World' takes a softer, less violent approach to the methods which can be used to control a society; whether it be tireless conditioning or hynopaedic sleep exercises. This book creates a vivid and shocking picture of a controlled society, which doesn't seem as far away as one might expect. Highly recommend to anyone!

Note: the book makes many references to sexual acts, so it may not be suitable for younger readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
He does away with the narrative and talks lucidly and concisely. A brave new world was a fantastic description of our current world, his follow up work sets out the future.

Whether Huxley or Orwell were correct in their visions is simplistic, the reality is that both visions coexist in western societies. The vast majority just submit themselves to the Huxley carat of processed food and lowbrow entertainment and as a result the public at large don't see the establishment of 1984 style repression machinery.

Huxley is on a par with Bertrand Russell, a visionary.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
A very good book and essential if you've read "Brave New World" or not. Basically talks about how modern societies work in both democracy and dictatorship. How the power (government, big business, lobbyists, political parties, whatever) seek to control and manipulate us both directly and indirectly. And how the solution to this is freedom and education in a broad sense, without any ideology and any party. An essential book for people who want to think for themselves and love freedom, and do not want to be a sheep or a slave led by ideology, political parties, lobbyists and all the crap that surrounds us in modern societies.

It should be mandatory reading this book both in schools and in universities.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Brave New World is still a brilliant read. It arrived promptly and well packed, as I knew it would, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Great story and great book. A must read alongside 1984 to make you think and question the world around you and the direction its going. Everyone should read this fascinating book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
bought as a gift, recipient enjoyed it..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse