Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Kindle Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
141
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2007
I bought this book as it was listed as items similar to the Harry Potter series, which I enjoyed.
I found this book to be a good read and quite entertaining. I found it to be written with children in mind, as a lot of basic things were over-explained, which at times, stole a little of the rhythm in the writing. It was, as mentioned in a previous review, quite dark for a childrens book, but the author does explain the few slightly gruesome comments made by the characters and keeps it all with a light air, although i find the author tries to moralise a little too much with the reader. Do not be put off too much however by my fairly harsh comments, I did not stop reading at any point, and still enjoyed a great story. The book is written as a first person point of view and my minor frustrations were likely the author painting the main character and i missed it.
I am also interested in reading the rest of this trilogy/series and will post a review if i do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2011
Great book for kids and adults alike. Of special interest to those born in the county.
One of those great books which grip your interest from the start and are then difficult to put down.
Then you have to endure the long wait before the next book is released.
Joseph Delaney is an excellent writer and the choice of Daniel Weyman to read the book couldn't have been better.
Only one question remains ..... when is the next DVD coming out because I will be the first to buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2009
This is a brilliant book for both young and old and follows the journey of Tom, the 7th son of a 7th son, as he battles the forces of the dark. While the first two books are aimed more at a younger audience, Joseph Delaney has continued to develop both his characters and the world they inhabit with the 3rd, 4th and 5th book growing in length. I fully recommend this book to anyone to read whether you love fiction or not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2008
The first book was terribly slow to start, thought buying the series was looking like a mistake, but bear with them, from about a quarter of the way into the first book it warms up and by the 3rd or 4th book, the story has developed into a wonderfully different storyline to Harry Potter and Angie Sage, but in a similar theme, but more advanced in its story and writing style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2008
IK read alot and have never seen anything like this! its brilliant. there is a completely new world with new animals, monsters and magic! this book is truly original. however this rases the question, is new good? yes, yes, yes, yes! a risk was taken and it has paid of to make one of the best books ever wrote! brilliant, 5 stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2009
This is one of the BEST books i have EVER read.I was so so so scared of some of it.At night time i was DESPERATE to read it but it was so scary i just couldnt bare it.But i read it.Recommended by me.Brilliant for fluent readers.Thought if you are a scaredy cat dont bother.ULTRA brilliant and scary.oooooh!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
This book was awesome! Parts were scary and I had to stop reading at night but it was amazing. There are others in the series and I will definitely be buying them. My favourite part was the most scary part when the apprentice was in the old house all by himself. Do not read this on your own at night!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2006
1 of the best books ive ever read. really exciting and it leaves you on tender hooks. if i were u id buy it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
I loved this book so much. It was so scary that a few nights, I would have trouble getting to sleep. Altogether, brilliant book, want to get the sequel SO MUCH!!!!!!!! Five stars. Fantastic story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
wicked book FULL OF GHOSTS,WITCHES AND EVEN[MORE and they just get better as they go on. REALLY CREEPY BOOK !!!!!!!!!![ASIN:1862308535 The Spook's Apprentice: Book 1 (The Wardstone Chronicles)]]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse