Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
131
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2017
Very subtly written and trippy. I really enjoyed this book but I feel the translator could have done a better job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
As ever, an interesting Murakami read - he's also very easy to read even when the content is complex
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Literally mind blowing! Couldn't stop reading.. Just wish I haven't finished this novel haha
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Fantastic and fantastical
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
To me this is one of the greatest books of all time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
Love the controls - left side/right side and feet /body.
Excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
Fantastic - Murakami at his best!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2008
Having read, and enjoyed The Wind-up Bird Chronicle by Murakami, I was expecting something equally as good from this book, but I was rather disappointed.

Simply put, the book feels forced and pretentious. Not necessarily the storyline, but the flow of ideas. It feels as if Murakami has found an idea he wants to put across, then works backwards, constructing a story that leads to this final idea of accepting the end of the world. However, this story is like a cut-and-paste. Characters come in, concepts are thought up, and places made just to channel the character towards the final end. It's almost as if most of the pieces of the story have been put in place just because the writer CAN put them in. The pages are cluttered with unnecessary detours, leeches, climbing ladders and "information wars".

All this detracted from the book. Much like the unnecessary detour in The Wind-up Bird Chronicle where Manchuria is mentioned. That felt like it was put in just to make the book controversial in Japan. With Hard-Boiled Wonderland, it feels like the whole book was an unnecessary detour from the meaning, which was itself clearly evident at the end of the book, but came about with such lack of subtlety that any impact was lost.

In this book Murakami is about as subtle as a hammer. It's almost painful to read the way he tries to force the two worlds to come into some sort of contact with one another (i.e. through skulls) throughout the book. It's a shame really because I had high hopes for this book, but it may have tarnished my view of Murakami.

This book needs a May Kasahara.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
I bought this because I heard about it via the Haibane Renmei fandom. It was apparently a great influence on Yoshitoshi ABe in the creation of HR and having seen HR the various parallels did show. HOWEVER as a story this is a remarkable piece of fantasy. The story is two converging stories, told in alternating chapters so you need to keep track of details. Hard Boiled Wonderland is set in Tokyo and concerns the tribulations of a Calcutec - a professional handler of data as he is employed on a strange assignment. The End Of The World is a tale of a stranger in a strange town.. (this is where yu find the HR references)
As I say the two stories converge with the truth coming out in the last few chapters.

Buy it, read it. even in a translation from the original Japanese (which I certainly can't read) it reads well and grips the curiosity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 August 2014
Not Haruki's best book. Split in two half, which alternate (much like the far superior's 1Q84 alternative chapters from male and female viewpoint), this book does it less effectively, and fails to bring them together effectively. I cared for neither side of the story, and found myself more interested in the world hey lived in rather than the gist of the story. I love Murakami- by far my favourite author- and although this is not his worse, it is definitely down in that region. Norwegian wood, 1Q84, South of the border, west of the sun; read these first.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here