Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2015
This book is a challenging and engaging account of how the author learned the highly specialised business of wine production,whilst not initially even being able to speak French.Her writing style is excellent,and engages the reader,despite so much of the book being descriptive of her highly specialised business.She has the ability to write movingly,without being overly sentimental,and I am left deeply impressed by the size of the task undertaken by this lady and her ability to commit her experiences to paper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
I so so enjoyed this. The author's writing is elegant and beautifully crafted. It made me want to read more about her time in France. The only note of caution id add is that having read other books based in a french vineyard environment I found the endless 'and then I had to do this ON MY OWN until midnight' and then 'only I could do something (a bit dull) to the vines' slightly relentless but as a debut writer it was mostly a joy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
This book has been a joy to read. Ms Atkinson portrays the many intricacies and delicacies inherent to French life, and ensures the reader is swept along in the narrative throughout. I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in French culture and the opportunity to live in France, or anyone who enjoys the occasional cross-channel visit!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2012
If you are wondering about buying a vineyard abroad then this will be of great interst. although in France I found it very interesting as we about to buy one in Italy and it gave a good insight into going abroad without much knowledge of the language and learning everything from scratch. Will also be of interest to those wishing to live abroad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
I loved this book so much I bought it for friends too.

A brave woman takes on the huge challenge of setting up a vineyard on her own in a strange country.

I learned so much about the wine-making and wine-tasting business from reading this book and the story was compelling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
Not just another book about the english in France. This one teaches a huge amount about wine growing through her own story. It is well written, informative and very touching. Not only does she make incredible wine, she tells a good story too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 August 2013
Well written easy to read factual book. It is a must read if you are thinking of going into commercial wine making. It is also an attractive story which keeps you reading on. So not just for the viticulturist but a good general read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2010
This is a good holiday read although it becomes a bit repetative when it comes to the vines and pruning/picking.The map was a good touch and I did cry at one point but I will not spoil it for you. All in all an enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
Patricia Atkinson is a very plucky lady and if you are at all interested in how the wine you drink is made then you will enjoy this fascinating book. Also it is well written and may even extend your French vocabulary!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who loves France and wine. It opened my eyes to the hard work involved in making wine and am now amazed that it can be sold so cheaply!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)