Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
17
4.4 out of 5 stars
Two Frogs
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 July 2017
Fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2004
I bought this book for my 2-year old son who loves Frogs and the first time I read it to him I actually laughed out loud.
The story is all about two frogs sitting on a lily pad in the middle of a large pond. One frog is holding a stick which he intends to use for protection. I won't give the story away but a lengthy discussion about the stick follows with a hilareous outcome.
Great, life-like and comical illustrations and beautifully written, this is a fabulous book suitable for all pre-school or early readers.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 21 July 2004
A really wonderul book, this is not just the simple, beautifully illustrated story it appears to be. It's about fear. Should you worry about what will happen and carry a big stick, like one frog, or laugh it off as improbably like the other frog? The two friends are both right, as it turns out....
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 March 2008
This is a bold and funny book, with strong realistic illustrations. Two frogs on a lily pad converse, one an eternal pessimist preparing for the worst holding a big stick just in case, for example, a champion javelin thrower with a frog-eating dog who was an excellent swimmer should just happen by and throw a ball right into the middle of the lake. The adult reader will be smiling by this point in the story - we all know someone like this who always thinsk of the million unlikely things that could possibly go wrong - and then the tale gets better. With more real dangers like pike and heron you can't possibly predict the way the frog's day will progress or how useful the stick might be. But I guarantee you will laugh! Absolutely brilliant!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
This is a simple story of two frogs sitting on a lily pad in the middle of a large pond, where one frog is holding a stick. The story opens with narrative in the past tense in a typical story opening of "Once there were two frogs sitting..." The narrator is unknown to the reader. The text then progresses to dialogue between the two frogs, where they are discussing why one of the frogs is holding a stick. We discover that is it for protection against dogs.
The frog holding the stick can be described as a pessimist as he constantly thinks he will be attacked by a dog or perhaps a pike or a heron. He may also be viewed as prepared, sensible and cautious. The other frog laughs, and thinks the frog is silly for holding a stick for protection and that it is unneeded as he believes it will never happen as it is much too unlikely. This frog may be viewed as the optimist, or simple unprepared and unsafe.
The dialogue between the two frogs takes up most of the text in the book. The narrator is used to introduce the book at the beginning and to narrate how the frogs are speaking, for example "suggested the frog with the stick" and also to describe the frog's actions, for example, "he laughed so much he fell into the pond." Finally, the narrator is used to conclude the book, explaining how the frogs are nearly eaten by the pike, then taken up by the heron, to then escape to dry ground to collect more sticks, which makes them miss the dog fetching his ball from the pond, who was the threat in the first place.
This book may be described as a cautionary tale, where it is always safer to be prepared, and to expect the unexpected. But what would life be like now for the frogs that they were now living in constant fear? Fear is the main theme of this book, and many people may find this book humorous. However, I did not find the book funny myself, but that must just be personal preference.
The book is quite large and is nearly square but it has a slightly longer width than height. The front cover is a wrap around, where on the front the picture depicts the two frogs in the pond, surrounded by lily pads, with the frog on the right holding a stick. On the opening double page it shows the two frogs sitting on a lily pad in the middle of the large pond, again with the frog on the right holding the stick. The frogs are shown at a distance, which gives the impression of the pond being really large.
The style of illustration remains the same throughout the book. The colours used are quite natural, and are variations of tones and shades of blue, green and brown are used, and the stick is a reddy brown. All of the illustrations are double page spreads where the images bleed to the edge at the top two corners and cross the gutter. The illustrations of the frogs are really detailed and show the frogs expressions really clearly so you can see how they are interacting with each other during their conversation.
The text is always found in the white space below the illustrations. The text is written in quite a large easy to read font. The opening five words are written in capital letters. The type of language is quite simple and easy to understand with no vocabulary that is too challenging. Children could read this book themselves. There is a mix of simple, compound and complex sentences. However the humour of the book is aimed at older children or adults as I don't believe younger children would pick up on it. This is why I believe that this book is aimed at slightly older children.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2009
Even though my kids do enjoy this, I suspect this is really a picture book for grown ups, as I am sure I enjoy it even more than they do. Can't give away the ending but it it so funny I can't recommend highly enough. Keeping with the froggy theme Spells by Emily Gravett is another very funny book with a twist at the end (warning: read the reviews first!)
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 August 2004
Two Frogs arrived yesterday so both my wife and I read it last night. We howled with laughter. Excellent illustrations, excellent build-up and timing. The picture of the pike might be a bit scary for very sensitive children, but most will love it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
Chris Wormell is - perhaps - not the best known children's author but the fact is that he's a multi-talented artist/illustrator who's building up an impressive body of work including books and commercial artwork, such as his posters and POS for Suffolk brewers Adnams. This is even more impressive given that he's self taught and his first artist's tools were for woodcutting, not watercolour as in Two Frogs. My children own several of his books but I think this one is arguably the best, and great for parents to read out to their kids - in my version one frog is 'posh' and the other is a bit more 'Cockney', so you can distinguish the two. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
I bought this for my 3 yr old Grand-daughter. It is such a lovely book, two frongs having a debate about survival...so funny but with a twist. Well worth the few pounds it cost. Illustrations are just lovely, have a look at the expression in both frogs' eyes. Really made me smile, it has be read & read & read....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
My children borrowed this book from the library and liked it so much that I decided to buy a copy. I gave it a 4-star rating only because of the slight photocopy-quality of the book we received, but the story is one of those classics that gets a laugh on each reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

One Smart Fish
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here