Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
32
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 26 March 2017
The book is in excellent condition and I'm looking forward to reading it. Although I have other Brando biographies this covers much more of his childhood memories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2017
loved it thank you very good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2005
Brando the legendary actor behind such classics as streetcar named desire and on the waterfront writes his autobiography.
Brando is famous for being a private man and this book is the same way he only talks about his career and leaves out all of the family details but that doesnt mean the book decreases in quality.
what really stuns me about this book is how honest Brando was, in this book he comments on his fears and self doubts which most authors would have left on the cutting room floor. He talks about the inner peace he was searching for but never found.
When i picked up this book i couldnt put it down and after i had finished reading it once i flipped it over and read it again.
This book is a must have for anyone interested in film, a book written by the worlds best actor and a great human being
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2006
Brando was according to most of his peers a genius and it is difficult to disagree with this when you view his more "serious" contributions to cinema such as "On The Waterfront", "The Godfather" and "A Streetcar Named Desire". He is also an actor who by his own admission made some awful films "...not necessarily for artistic reasons!" This book offers a rare insight into a man held up as a genius by many but who in his own estimation did a pointless and meaningless job simply for the money. Indeed, it is interesting to read how he would have preferred to have been a cleaner than to act if it had paid as well. How a man could be motivated so little to do his job yet turn out such good performances in so many films is the central core of this book. It is so interesting to hear him compare himself with Olivier as an actor and as a rival for Vivien Leigh's affections and to see how one of the few films he made which really appealed to him and which he was enthusiastic about , "A Dry White Season" was such a disappointment for him because of the unwillingness of the producers to allow him some creative input. This is from first to last worth the price and offers a riveting look into one of the 20th Century's most iconic personalities.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
I am a bit too young to have been around when Brando was a big movie star, however having seen a few of his movies and heard a few of the stories he was caught up in, I borrowed this off a friend and couldn't put it down. Brando is philosophical as they come and really comes across as a warm caring person who seemed literally to just treat acting as a means to an end much as we do a normal 9-5 job, it details his sexploits with many young starlets, his problems he was renowned for, including even his weight gain which he puts down to his love of cookies and ice cream. He didn't mention much at all about his many ex wives, although there was clearly one special lady in his life. I liken this much to the excellent Wicked Wicked Ways by Errol Flynn. When I was in Los Angeles, I took a drive to Brandos house, you can get to the outside anyways, its been flattened now but the same driveway and spot on Mullholland Drive is there (next door to Jacks).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 1999
Brando begins by criticising persons who might have an interest in tawdry books of the nature that you have picked up. But it is far from a tawdrey book.
Imagine that Elvis Presley had had a university degree-what he might have articulated to us about Living The American Dream? The truth is that inside every intelligent person hides a little piece that wonders how they would have fared had they had the guts to gamble in the insane world of iconography. Intelligence is what sets Brando apart from other actors. He doesn't just describe his journey along the route trodden by countless male bimboes (gymboes?) with the eye of an intellectual, an accidental quality interloper in that bizarre, indulgent Hollywood we all fantasize about. He takes detours to provide really informed glimpses of the landmass called Life from the vantage points of the exclusive heights that he attained. He also describes anecdotes about life in the real world which are nothing to do with Great Big Star status but the adventures of a curious intellect. The fact that these are Brando's adventures is almost insignificant.
" I have had a good life. Not many people have intimidated me." says Marlon. Epic understatement. Far from a tawdrey Hollywood sleaze / dreams-come true tome, Brando describes the life of the rarest of breeds, the intelligent macho-man. Acting was simply something that paid the rent. In the voice of the wisened father figure that he portrayed in one of his more famous movies he recounts the insane dysfunctional family that produced him and his experiences of all levels of post-war American Life are deeply informed by his unusual intellect. There'e plenty of Don Juaning along the road for those who are into such things (could Marlon be Marlon without these?) But this book is worth reading for a look inside a top-level mind that actually went out and lived to it's full potential.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2004
The thing that I found most striking about this book from the moment I began reading it is that Marlon Brando actually has a sense of humour, which isn't the common perception of him. Marlon reflects on his childhood, schooling, his brief stage career and the experiences of working in the golden age of Hollywood that made him a living legend- about all these topics he is open and often quite detailed, all the time revealing a dry wit. The only thing that makes this book seem incomplete is the fact that he never talks about his marriages or children, but you have to ultimately respect his decision, as you will undoubtably begin to respect the man behind the myth.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
A great read if you have some initial sympathy with Brando's outlook and ideas and in particular his activism. At times the book seemed to deviate a bit too much into these areas for a standard "My Life" - so anybody looking for a complete run down and insight into his acting career and films might want to look elsewhere. But how he describes and explains the plight of the Native American Indian and his general contempt for the movie business (spot on about the self-congratulatory gravy train of awards and festivals and speeches) and his general squashing into perspective of his own screen achievements - he obviously doesn't think much of them - makes this an interesting and unusual read.

However, it is refreshingly full of ideas and his personal view of the world and his own life - inevitably with that touch of self-centred smugness and hypocrisy without which he would never have been a great screen actor and "star". For a guided tour of the inside of his head - read this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2017
You can hardly get closer to the truth on Brando than this. If Mr Ravioli was ever going to tell us as much as he could, then its in here. SImply for its revelations about Hollywood, and particularly the studio system, this book is worth the read. Often very thoughtful and sometimes evasive, you have to be prepared to read between the lines, but if you do, you will be greatly rewarded.
However, its Brando's views on life which are really extraordinary, and I never use that word lightly. He has strong views on poeple, culture, history, physics, religion, sex and just about everything else, and you have to listen, because he experienced so much.
Ah, if he could only have told us it all ...
We'll miss you Marlon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2004
Brando does not go into huge detail about every singly part of his life or career in this autobiography. However, to me it is great to read something told from a person's own viewpoint if necessary reading between the lines to discover their personality (just as you would in a real life) rather than reading a book written by a biographer. So what was in this book I found interesting as Brando reminisces about his early family life and subsequent career and experiences. Brando is very contemplative person and gives opinions on a great many subjects throughout this book. Also the slightly spikier aspects of his personality comes through as he is sometimes dismissive of his own acting or of others that he did not get along with. Overall, it is a very interesting read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)