Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 29 June 2010
A thoroughly enjoyable book written with feeling and making the reader part of the adventure. You have to admire any one brave and possibly foolhardy to contemplate a trip on this scale in this case around South Africa. Jonny however takes all the problems in his stride and just carries on, this in spite of border controls and officialdom at its worst. This book is a mixture of perseverence, excitement, disappointment and yes even romance. It also shows that in some areas of Africa with its poverty and hardship friendship and a willingness to help a stranger is not far away. Although this is a motorcycle adventure the bike is not the star and the reader is not bogged down with details about the bike.

A great book fit to grace any book shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2017
Anyone who wants to be a travel writer should read Jonny for a lesson on how it's done. Most writers talk about getting from one place to another but Jonny tells a story. He describes people, places, events and feelings to the extent I could see it all in my head.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2015
An excellent read but an element of self flagellation by the author as he suffers extreme hardship in some of the routes which he chooses.
I did require to have an atlas within reach as he crossed through several African states. It was only when I reached the end of the e reader that I learned that the book had been first published in 1995. Although the political scene has changed in some of the places through which he traveled, conflict regrettably remains an issue in parts of that 'dark continent'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2014
one of the best travel stories I've read, not just a bike journey but someone finding himself after a heartbreaking experience.
I have traveled to some of the places in Africa mentioned and the authors tales are just how it was I'm sure. Read it if you like a good yarn well written with heartbreak, humour and human interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2015
Lovely writing by a Jonny, a great story with a background and motivation of deep sadness. But joy as Jonny discovers Africa, his inner-strength and his future. Super read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2015
Fantastic! what a great a story, It's difficult to believe the story is true. This guy put himself through an amazing adventure in order to deal with the grief of loss. I would highly recommend this book to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2016
This is a fantastic story you really feel you are on the journey with Johnny .the ups and downs of travelling in Africa.and going back with his time with Mel was heartwarming I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2009
This is a well written and interesting adventure travel book which I can readily recommend. In these types of adventure books, there always seems to be a heavy reliance on strangers bailing them out after getting into difficulty, and this adventure traveller is no exception. So much so, that he seems to have elevated being bailed out into an art form, as he makes one harebrained decision after another in order to be adventurous and in the hope that it will all be alright in the end. Whether this type of behaviour detracts or enhances the reading enjoyment of the book is up to you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2016
Excellent book...really good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2014
I've read many motorbike travel books and this one surprised me but how good it was. definately recommend, it's up there with Bearback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)