Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2015
I would not have given this book five stars but my autistic son does! He loves it, because just like Blake's book Angelica Sprocket's pockets, this is somewhat of an insane book. He loves them both. This story is about the lady who finds a little baby bird on the ground after a storm, takes him in, wraps him in too many blankets and feed him chocolate gateau and all other things which make you fat. She treats him like a baby and goes for walks with him, like other mothers, him sitting in a newly purchased pram. It does end a little bit sad, since he grows enormous and one day takes off. But he does come back to visit bringing the lady gifts like dead mice. My son does not really understand that this is sort of gross, because he is being nice, isn't he? To me, the lady needs her head examined, but that is not the way my son sees it. So, after borrowing the book from the library, I know have had to send for our own copy, because he likes it so much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
Love this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
This book is about an old lady who loves taking care of red birds. But the bird cant stay small can it obviously it will grow bigger and fly away. In fact its so big it lives in a shed!!!This is a hilarious book thats why I like it. The big red bird is lucky it
gets treated that well he has about 2000 unhealthly bits of food a day. No
wonder its so big! It cant even sit in the shed. Georgia Year 3
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
This book is about an old lady who loves taking care of red birds. But the bird cant stay small can it obviously it will grow bigger and fly away. In fact its so big it lives in a shed!!!This is a hilarious book thats why I like it. The big red bird is lucky it
gets treated that well he has about 2000 unhealthly bits of food a day. No
wonder its so big! It cant even sit in the shed. Georgia Year 3
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
Review 1
Loveykins is exciting brilliant because there is a bird that got really fat and got too big for his wings and a big beak and the lady that looked after him fainted and he flew away all over the town and then flew back and looked after her.

Review 2
It is brilliant because there is a bird and woman cares for him by giving him too much food, so the bird gets fatter and then he turns into a bigger massive bird.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
YOU WILL BE DELIGHTED with THE WAY IT IS SET OUT.I LIKE THIS STORY BECAUSE ITS A LOVE STORY.

BY JODIE POWAZYNSKI YEAR 3
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
A really charming little story in every way. Quentin Blake, well known for his charming illustrations (which do not fail to delight in this story), is equally adept at charming us with his stories. This little corker of a story sucked me right back into my childhood as I read it. Loved it. Shame I wasn't buying it for me. Hope the little boy I bought it for loves it as much as I do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
The crazy lady in this Quentin Blake story is such a great character. The illustrations are jumping on the page and the tale will bring a big smile to every reader young or old. I was glad to give this as a gift to my daughter and she was very glad too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
Absolutely fantastic book, characters, illustrations and story. Funny and entertaining throughout. Not sure what my 5 year old thought but I loved it :-D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
Fabulous illustrations and a good story. I bought for a seven year old girl. It seemed to go down well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here