Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
19
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 16 July 2013
Good story, but bought to discuss different point of view with yr 2 class. Story good but concept tricky. Provoked lots of discussion work
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 18 January 2015
This is a wonderfully re-imagined tale of “The Princess and the Pea,” told from the perspective of the pea itself. A little pea, born in the Palace Allotment and picked from the pile by the Queen herself. The Queen is insistent that the Prince find a bride and, if he doesn’t get married within a year, she will stop his pocket money! The search is on – but the princesses he finds are too grumpy, too sleepy or have strange pets (pet frogs?!). Can the pea do anything to help solve the situation? This is a lovely story, full of humour, wonderful illustrations and an unusual twist to a familiar tale.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 October 2007
This is a cracking good book, funny, different and bold so it stands out brilliantly from the many soft and gentle animal books which litter the children's sections of bookshops and libraries. The traditional story of the Princess and the Pea (and if you don't have a good version, stick Lauren Child's The Princess and the Pea in your basket too) is told from the point of view of the pea. He's a palace pea that almost became part of a Recipe but was plucked just in time, by the queen, destined for greater things. And so the pea was placed under twenty mattresses as the test for a Real Princess. But months passed and the pea decides to hurry things along a little. It's a brilliant idea, and beautifully executed: well written and great pictures. My children (3, 5, & 7, of whom two are boys) think it is very funny indeed. The illustrations are quirky, and fun, containing a variety of interesting and amusing things that appeal across the age range, for example the pile of twenty mattresses looks like the most enormous about-to-topple sandwich or an overloaded burger bun. I love the other foody touches throughout too like vegetable wall-paper and the Queen's pea eyes and necklace. Worth every sparkle of a 5-star rating. It's wonderful.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 22 December 2007
We all know the story of the Princess and the pea. But have you ever thought about the poor little pea? Being squashed under all those mattresses, it's a wonder it wasn't a mushy pea.

Anyway, this tells the story of the pea from the traditional fairy story. From the moment the pod popped open, to the climbing up of a mattress mountain to help the process of finding a princess for the prince.

It's not the best kiddies book but it is good, and it's a great twist on a well known story. I hope they do more like this, maybe Humpty Dumpty from the perspective of the poor wall he sat on?!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2005
This is the retelling of the classic fairytale the princess and the pea from the pea's perspective. The pea gets fed up of waiting for a princess to feel him underneath the mattresses so he decidees to intervene. The illustrations are vibrant and lively but the Queen who is testing the princesses is quite frightening looking she bears some resembalnce to our own Queen in her tweed skirt and headscarf but has peas for eyes which are a bit frightening. I think the idea is very clever but it is a bit old for 3-4 's. They enjoy the pictures but don't really understand the story.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
My wife has built a doll's bed with over 20 quilts and mattresses for our granddaughter with of course the princess and the star of the story the pea. The book compliments her creation perfectly.Very bright and colourful and just what we wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2010
Lovely book, really good fun, great text and fab illustrations, another great from Mini Grey, would recommend all her books to everyone with young children, my boy loves them and we get so much from them really good books to enjoy together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
It's quite an original take on the story but to be honest I much prefer the original. To me it's just trying to be "clever" by adapting/changing a story that didn't need to be changed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Great, as all Mini Grey's books. Amazing illustrations with lots of details that kids love. It was bought as a gift and the recipient was very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Bought this as a Christmas gift. Would like to see a hardback version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse