Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
16
3.6 out of 5 stars
Howard Marks' Book Of Dope Stories
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 January 2002
Howard Marks' Book of Dope Stories is firstly, not about cannabis, the automatic first association with Marks, and secondly is not a book by Howard Marks.
Rather than a wide boy's bible, guaranteed to sell on the authors notoriety, this is an anthology of writings losely themed on the ideas of intoxication and drugs, of all sorts. The sources range from Thompson to Baudelaire and Marks is largely a silent partner. He has contributed a few pieces, mostly warmed over versions of earlier writings, and offers no commentary or notes on the pieces which make up the bulk of the work; something which would have enhanced the book as a whole.
That criticism withstanding, the book as a whole is a strong collection of well-chosen pieces. It is well-structured, though in places it becomes repetitive and dull. It is not a book to read from start to finish in a single sitting; like any anthology, each individual piece deserves to be read properly, and not just in the context of the book.
My main reservation with this otherwise very readable and useful anthology is in its misleading branding. It is not a book of dope stories by Howard Marks. The bulk of the material is philosophical or intellectual in tone, and comes from a huge range of writers.
If Marks is playing the game of luring people to this valuable material using his name and notoriety i have no problem. Introducing the uninitiated to Sabbag et al can only be good.
If, on the other hand, he is just cashing in on his name to sell books, without even bothering to write a book....
I think, given his background and intelligence, there's a bit of both in the truth.
I read someone else's copy, then bought my own anyway. it's worth having.
11 Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2007
This book is truly boring and i agree with the last reviewer. He has thrown together a collection of chapters from various different books that have mentioned drug taking and then named it Mr marks book of dope stories. I would be surprised if he had involvement at all in this book other then his agent ringing him for a quick chapter about himself now and then. Truly one the worst books i have ever read.

Save your money and buy another book
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2008
Nothing much in Dope Stories that I had not heard or read before. Could easily be taken as Mr Marks cashing in on his success, but really who can blame him? All in all the book is well put together and a fine read. Perhaps the author would do well to get out on the field (I suspect he's out to pasture) and live out some more dope adventures. Nothing quite beats the cannabis smoke coming out of the crazy horse's mouth.Mind Bomb
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2001
... Whatever your views of the demon weed this book is guaranteed to make you laugh.
As a collection of stories it is superb. Each seems to be soaked in the same charm that made Mr Nice such a joy to read. A remarkable man using his new-found fame to spread some blinding literature that many will simply not be aware of. BUY BUY BUY BUY
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2001
I've just finished reading this book and to say that it's not brilliant would be dumb. Taking his queue to add weight to the free cannabis campaign, Howard Marks has used his stature wisely. There's accurately given details, theories and analysis from the stories of other writers and several from the man himself. Thankfully, these like-minded people have the same view but this book is not a collection or a compendium, it's an argument that will enlighten the reader. The added passages of Robert Sabbags new book 'Smokescreen' shows that Marks understands the need to alleviate peoples fears of drug culture while giving the readers a glimpse of what has been one of the top anticipated books for at least a few decades. This is a book that someone new to Marks and this culture could read or someone who's followed his trail over the years from his autobiography and interviews, to his newspaper articles and the monthly column in Loaded magazine.
Essential reading for anyone who enjoys looking between the lines.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2017
Its okay, lots of short stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2006
I have read Mr.Nice & found it excellent. However, if ever a book was rush released to cash in on an authors previous book, this was it. This book is complete drivel, period !
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2002
I have not read Mr Nice as yet but i want to, if only to save face for Mr Marks. 'Dope Stories' is an average book, ideal for reading on the toilet, but not much else. It has brief interludes of greatness, but even these are soon forgotten as you read another 12th century manuscript on religion and pass out with boredom. I wouldn't reccomend this book to anyone apart from the obsessive historian. I reckon this is just Mr Marks cashing in on his undeniable popularity at the moment. Not worth the read, i've heard Mr. Nice is a lot better...read that instead.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
I thought this would be more of Marks adventures, its not. It mostly a book of other peoples opinion on drug use. pretty boring really,
Marks is a bit of a con man,I shouldn't be surprised, attention seeking bread head,marks is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2002
Firstly, it isn't as good as Mr Nice, more's the pity but that isn't to say it's a bad book. Think the best bits from all drug books you would never in your life consider buying, all brought together in a kind of greatest hits collection. Needs more input from Marks own experiences rather than the joys of licking a toad or drinking sperm for a hit. The good thing about this book is simply because, as it's a collection of excerpts, you can skip to the next story if the reading becomes a touch tedious. Mr. Nice 2?, I'm waiting Howard!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse