Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
218
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2000
This was the first book I had read by Lesley Pearse and it certainly won't be the last. I was completely addicted from the first to the last page and found myself burning the midnight oil to complete this book. Camellia had to go through so much in order to find out her true identity and it kept me guessing to the very end. Lesley Pearse writes in such a powerful way, conjuring up a mixture of emotions that the reader just can't help experiencing with the characters. I found myself almost wishing I was there with Camellia. The only down side of the book was that it had to end. I have since purchased 'Georgia, Charity and Never Look Back' and am looking forward to reading them. I only hope they live up to 'Camellia'.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2003
This was the first Lesley Pearse book I have read, and turned to the first page half-heartedly as so many books are a let down, however I was thrilled to find this to be an exception! From the word go, I was gripped...I found myself running off to my room at every opportunity to try and snatch five minutes of reading..of course these five minutes always turned to a couple of hours, because Lesley Pearse really is a woman who knows exactly how to write a page-turner! I was absolutely fascinated, and the vivid character descriptions captured my mind, my imagination, and every spare moment of my life! This book is possibly the most emotional, and enthralling book I have ever had the fortune to discover!!
11 Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2004
this review might sound abit weird as i am only 15 but i think that lesley Pearse has out done herself. Camellia is one of my favourite books. But it does help if you read Ellie first then go on to read Camellia. there is only one word that can describe this book-FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2008
Another outstanding book by Lesley Pearse. I have read quite a few of hers now and I am NEVER disappointed.
When I finished Camellia I felt like I had lost a friend. I'd love to read more on her and see how her life turned out - I know it is only fiction but I am hooked!
Only one thing though... I have also got the book Ellie that I purchased at the same time as Camellia. I read Camellia first and now I have started Ellie, I feel like I know all about her from the final chapters of Camellia. Should I have read Ellie first? I think so... Any comments on this? Thank you.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
I am a HUGE Lesley Pearse fan, especially her historical fiction. I have to say that this book, unfortunately, was not one of my favourites. It was good, but a bit predictable, kind of figured out how it was going to end before I got anywhere near the end!

As always Lesley doesn't fail to bring her books to life, her attention to detail regarding the time period she writes is incredible. You could almost smell the grease of the little back street cafe, the smell of smoke and the noise in the packed out clubs. You could also get an impression of what London looked and sounded like in the mid to late 60's and 70's.

I felt there was unfinished business with some of the characters, for example Raymond and the inheritance that was left by his mother. What happened to Edward, these are things I would have liked to know...but, I don't think there is enough to make a follow up book to answers these and other questions.

It was a decent read, but its one I could put down and not read again, which is unusual for me and any Lesley Pearse book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2001
Camellia was the first book I read by Leyley Pearse and I was so involved in Camellia's life. Half way through the book I just couldn't stop crying as I felt so much of wht she was going through. Brilliant.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
I have read 2 books of Lesley Pearse and became a fan. A week ago I started to read Camellia and have had to abandon it. I'm not a prude, but can't stand to read pages and pages of porn, sexual deviation etc. etc. I like to read a good story and not pages and pages of sex. All the other Lesley Pearse books have some sexual descriptions, but that is OK for me - just can't stand the detailed descriptions and the number of pages taken up with it, rather than the story of the girls - there is no need for it. I will look carefully at her other books before I buy them. I loved the first two and I'm sure most of the others will be just as good as the first two.
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
I haven't even finished this book yet but I felt compelled to write a review already!!

I was engrossed from page 1! I am just over halfway through and I am still fascinated the way that Lesley Pearse creates twists and turns for Camellia that are so unexpected.

I Love it.

However, only just found out that reading the novel "Ellie" first is always helpful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2006
i am a massive lesley pearse fan and have read a few of her books. this is by far one of my favourites so far, it was very gripping and hard to put down. would recommend this to any women, although keep it away from the kids as some of the scenes are very sexually explicit! Fantastic!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
I have read many of Lesley Pearse's books so I was not really surprised when the nauseatingly explicit content sprang up after the first few chapters. However, this was so bad, positively cringeworthy in fact - and I would add totally unnecessary to the storyline - that I nearly gave up and threw it in the woodburner! I really wish Ms Pearse would appreciate that her story telling and her descriptive writing is so good that she really doesn't need to lower the standard of her work into the 'average chic lit' category by including scenes such as this. In my humble opinion Iit does her overall reputation as a talented and prolific author no favours whatsoever! Now, rant over, I'm pleased I persevered with the book as it improved greatly. Really enjoyed it thereafter, even though I had to keep skipping pages when she fell into 'chic lit' mode again. I would have given it five stars had it not been for the points mentioned above.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£8.99
£7.99
£7.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here