Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
23
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2013
I didnt enjoy this as much as I had hoped - I found its style a little dull... perfect if you want an easy unchallenging bedtime read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
I was amused at some of the other reviews. Interesting to see people who are clearly used to reading pulp, struggling with the beautiful nuance and high art of modern literary genius. If you need it spelled out don't bother to read Alice Munro. Someone even said it was 'dull'. We have bred a nation of mouth breathing morons, it seems.
Alice, meanwhile, is not as florid or edgy as Donna Tartt but her style is clever in its simplicity and wonderful stuff, there to be appreciated by people who still have the power of analytical thinking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
Interesting stories, with no beginning or end, but well crafted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
Used the book as a gift, but know it is exellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Excellent condition as befits a wonderful writer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
Cant go wrong with Alice Monroe a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
A fantastically good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
100% as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2010
This collection of short stories was my introduction to Alice Munro's world and writing. It is not light reading material, not ideal if you seek some fluffy escapism, but each novella will stay long with you and make you think. Her short stories are like snapshots of the lives of her characters, this was something that I personally don't like: I prefer a story to have a beginning, a middle and an ending, it bothered me that I didn't get a glipmse of what would happen to the characters after the middle of the story, but it is just a personal preference.

I have read that Alice Munro is called the Canadian Chekhov, and I have to agree, the athmosphere of her stories is very reminiscent of Chekhov: her stories, the repressed tension, all the hidden feelings and reasons behind the peaceful exterior are simmering and make the reader tense up, feeling the progressive build up of tension and unavoidable explosion coming.

This was not a light and enjoyable read but rather an unsettling drama, the storylines and problems kept me thinking long after finishing the story.

Plot: 4/10
Characters: 8/10
Ending: 6/10
Writing: 7/10
Cover: 8/10
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
Great !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here