Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Final Demand
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 2 November 2014
Working in a humdrum job for a telecommunications company, Natalie's mind turns to thoughts of fraud. If only she had the same initials as the firm for which she works, just a tiny adaptation could be made and she could then deposit it's incoming cheques in back accounts of her own. She already has the N (for Natalie). Now she just needs to marry a man whose surname begins with T. Enter the gentle, besotted and unsuspecting Colin.

So far, so good. But here, the ripple effect begins, and a parallel story emerges of another family, and a terrible tragedy; one which would never have happened had it not been for Natalie's new life of crime.

The two stories - of Natalie, and of the family which is struck by tragedy - are told alternately, and each is equally engrossing. While I found the novel a little slow to start off with, it certainly gained pace towards the end. The ending itself was surprisingly abrupt, but on the whole, I enjoyed this novel. It is by no means one of the author's best, but well worth reading. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2015
An absorbing read. It's easy to put oneself in Natalie's shoes, and although you know her fraudulent activities are completely immoral, you can feel her frustration in an unfair world where the rich appear to have an easier life. She does have a sensitive side to her personality which sometimes allows her to get under your skin so you don't wish any harm on her. I love the way Moggach writes, it has an edge,which is highly addictive and leaves you waiting impatiently for her next novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2015
Moggach has been a favourite author of mine for quite some time, her subject matter always being that little bit different. However, I did not enjoy this novel as much as her others as the conclusion felt uncomfortable. Maybe that was the intention, to show the reader that crime even against multinational corporations eventually affects someone down the line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2014
This is the first novel I have read by Deborah Moggach and I quickly became absorbed and engrossed in it, reading it in a day. It is the story of Natalie, an unfulfilled girl with a tattered past who tumbles upon an opportunity to commit a clever fraud and get away with it. But the consequences of her fraud are far reaching. Based on the novel, I would definitely read more by this author and would heartily recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2014
I found it disappointing. It was rather a grubby little story although contained a clever idea which was over milked. The characters were unconvincing. I felt no sympathy with any of them so it was difficult to be engaged. I felt Moggach used sex descriptions just for the sake of putting them in as though she had been asked to do so. It left me dispirited and gave nothing to its readers, I won't be trying any of her books again for a while. Sorry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2016
A good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2015
Very good book as usual Deborah is brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2014
An excellent read which keeps the narrative drive and tension going in typically wonderful Deborah M. style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2017
fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

In the Dark
£8.99
Tulip Fever
£7.17
Seesaw
£8.53

Need customer service? Click here