Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
10
A Cruel Courtship: (Margaret Kerr Trilogy: Book 3)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 October 2017
A bit disappointing - the previous books were better. This had too many characters and I couldn't get involved with them in the same way. The political issues didn't involve me either. Pity, as she's a good writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2013
An excellent read, along with the Owen Archer books, the Margaret Kerr Mysteries are some of the best books I have read. The historical content is very good and precise, I can only wait for further Candace Robb books in a similar vain to the ones mentioned.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2016
Great as usual
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2015
I got these books for mam and she was very happy with them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2017
Loved this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2014
Enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2015
I prefer her Owen Archer series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2007
A cruel Courtship is as usual with Candace Robb a meticulously researched novel about the plotting and counter plotting that surrounds the claims for the throne of Scotland. Edward Longshanks has returned to England and left Scotland in turmoil.

These are the times of William Wallace and Robert the Bruce. The book picks up the story in the year 1297. It is the time leading up to the battle of Stirling bridge. Margaret Kerr has moved to Stirling, primarily to discover why the person who has been providing details of the English plans has suddenly become unreliable.

Margaret's own loyalty is tested to the limit when her one time husband Roger is killed. She suspects James Comyn of the murder, a kinsman of the deposed King and the man who asked her to set up residence in Stirling. Her own position is becoming ever more precarious and a battle is imminent, as whoever holds Stirling Castle, holds the key to Scotland.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 May 2006
I always liked the writing of Candace Robb, but to be honest this time I was rather disappointed.

The story never really gets going. It stops, then goes forward, then backwards. There is no coherent development. The historical setting remains "misty" and the characters never come to life. It is a struggle to get through this book and it is quite easy to put it down. Everything seems to drag on and on. No, not my cup of tea!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse