Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 10 May 2017
We bought this as a used item. It was delivered promptly and packaged well. This lovely hard back was much bigger than I thought, but such a lovely book. In good condition, really pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
A magical and imaginative book with beautiful illustration and you can get a DVD to go with it. Arrived in good condition in good time for christmas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
A beautifully illustrated book about the way children mix dreams and real life. The Bear is about a little girl and a mysterious big white bear that becomes her friend. Is the bear an imaginary friend or is it real? The little girl takes care of the big bear and her parents behave as loving parents do, that is, they behave as if the bear were real. The illustrations, with their whites and greys and misty atmospheres, set the dreamy, even slightly unsettling atmosphere of this book.
`The Bear' is not a cheerful sunny book and I think it is more an illustrated book for adults than for children. I loved it for the beautiful illustrations and the sense of kindness and understanding it conveys.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
A big bear who gets in a little girl's bedroom window?

It can only be The Bear.

Raymond Briggs has won the Kate Greenway award. He has the best books in the world!

A Bear crept in the house. A little girl saw The Bear and she told it to go to bed with her. And the bear growled at Tilly. In the morning she ran down to tell her kind parents. Her mum was going to work and Tilly gave the bear a bath. The Bear did a poo and wee on the floor and Tilly had to clean it. The Bear was going away.

But does The Bear come back? How old is The Bear?
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
My grandson loves being read to and he enjoyed the lovely pictures. A lovely story for a sleepover at nanny's :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2016
Lovely looking book, drawn in Raymond Briggs style. Main issues I have wit it is that I expected it to tell the whole story the film does but it misses parts out of it and I thought it would just be the story told in images however there are words in speech bubbles. I was hoping there wouldn't be seeing as the film is silent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2016
Despite what it says on the cover, I don't think this is Mr. Briggs at his best at all. The drawings are beautiful but the story is really lacking for me, and in my opinion it would have been so much better had there simply been no words, like The Snowman, which I cannot reccomend highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2005
EXCELLENT BOOK IN CRAYON FORM PICTURES TELLING THE TENDER AND AMUSING TALE OF THR BEAR IN TILLY'S HOUSE!TILLY TRIES TO MAKE THE BEAR FEEL COMFORTABLE, BUT ITS NOT EASY...! HER PARENTS THINK THE BEAR IS A FIGMENT OF HER IMAGINATION.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Book was in great condition like new in fact..was very pleased. My six year old daughter often borrowed it from her school library and is delighted to have a copy of her own ..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2016
Lovely story. The children really enjoyed this and works well for children who are learning English as they can talk about the pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Snowman
£7.89

Need customer service? Click here