Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 6 March 2017
This is a very interesting book.
Full of very good ideas.
This was essentially New Labour's economic manifesto for the 1997 election that they won partly on the strength of this.
It was not implemented.
If it had been we may not have been where we are now.
I am going to read it again and then try to find out what actually happened and why.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2017
A very interesting book, even today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2017
One of the few books paying attention to the spatial distribution of the banking system in political economy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2016
Good price for rare item. Prompt delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2015
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2013
BUT DID ANYONE LISTEN ? DID ANYONE CARE I WONDER HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE READ IT ? AND TRULY UNDERSTAND ITS IMPLICATIONS !!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2017
Didn't expect this this to be a 1995 copy. As a law satuswnt I required a version less than 22 years old!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2011
I wanted to review this book, before starting to read Hutton's most recent piece "Them and Us". I read the book back in 1996, in the times of The Trainspotting hysteria in the North of U.K., and its key insights are as informative now as they were 15 years ago. Despite lots of historical and institutional differences, I could learn a lot about the logic and contingencies of the capitalist market economy, one can now observe in other parts of Europe, including Slovakia, my home country. I only wish we also had authors like Hutton who can provide a well-structured, optimistic big picture analysis of a nation's state and prospects...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2008
Given the dramatic collapse of Britain's banking industry in Autumn 2008, I once again picked up Mr Hutton's work to re-appraise myself of its arguments and to see if its solutions really would have helped us avoid the present crisis.

I was amazed at how well Hutton's critique predicted the shambles caused by removing the regulatory breaks from the once-mighty financial sector. The book picks apart the so-called Thatcherite economic reforms laying bear the true originator of Britain's contemporary economic woes. The argument against laissez-faire capitalism is sharpened by recent events. And surely now there cannot be a voter left who still believes that Thatcher was anything but a very poor, and very damaging Prime Minister.

Hutton lays bear the yawning weaknesses in the British economy forged by both Parties when in government, but particularly by the peculiar COnservative brand post 1979.

Unlike many polemics, this work does not stop at pointing out blame. It provides detailed and workable solutions to even this credit crunch. Europe is key, as well as reclaiming the economy as a tool to benefit ordinary people, rather than allowing it to enrich the already rich and run amok as it has these last 30 years.

A book written in the nineties that is as contemporary today as it was then. A must-read for the economic and political historian.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)