Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
47
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2017
Pretty much as my mother's Father told me - Grazie Nonno - e di piu Grazie Signore Puzo
Un Libro bellissimo scritto
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Not as good as Puzo's The Godfather but I really enjoyed this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The one thing this novel has going for it is that it is a fairly effortless read likely to keep you turning the pages, though maybe not compulsively. In other words "Omerta" would be undemanding company for a long journey, or perhaps a stay with relatives you don't much like, but otherwise there is little to recommend it.
The basic idea is intriguing enough (no spoiler alert, all this is explained very early in the novel): the adopted son of a true, old school Sicilian Don (who has retired from crime) is raised secretly in the old Mafia ways so as to be one day capable of defending the family. The twist here is that the Don's three grownup biological kids, although quite capable and successful in their respective chosen careers, are respectable upright citizens almost entirely ignorant of their dad's "business". Could've been a great story, but sadly plot and characters are shallow and unconvincing, and inter-relationships between the main players are especially weakly drawn.
If you're unfamiliar with Puzo's work, I suggest you read "The Godfather" first, perhaps followed by "The Last Don". If you've already read those then ther's no earthly need to bother with "Omerta", it's a disappointing last bow from a great storyteller.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 September 2013
I found this book an enjoyable way to pass the time, but it really does not hold a candle to The Godfather. It is a story of brutal relentless revenge with a very cold, uncaring main character who just doesn't seem to have the charisma and charm of a Corleone and therefore I really just did not care about one jot. The plot itself is fast moving with a lot of action but seems to lack the intrigue and drama of mafia politics, being more revenge based.

Whilst it seems unfair to compare this work to The Godfather it is impossible to read and judge it any other way as it is always going to have to stand alongside it. However, it lacks the character and that epic feel to it which makes The Godfather such a special treat to read (or watch).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2000
I picked up Omerta while waiting for a delayed flight, not sure what to expect. The back cover is full of praise, but it's for the previous book (!).
This one tells a simple story about a Mafia heir who has been trained to look after the family and assets of a 'Don' after his death. There are interesting, if shallow, characters in abundance and the story is gripping enough to keep reading into the small hours.
The pace is fairly steady and the narrative very linear: you know who the culprits are fairly early on (so that's out of the way) and interest centres on how revenge will be exacted, rather than against whom. If it were a film script it would be described as: "good story but lousy editing". The reason for this is that Mr Puzzo may not have finished the book himself: the copyright is 2000, but he died in 1999.
Overall, this is not a great book. It does not have the epic qualities of the Godfather and certainly does not feel like part of a trilogy. Good for the beach this summer, but that's about it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2000
This is not a book in the true Puzo - Godfather/Last Don - genre. The dialogue is unreal, the plots are bizarre, the characters are one-dimensional and lacking realism. There are odd moments when the real Puzo shines through but these are too infrequent for the book to be the good read one expects from this particular author. Anyone expecting a well-structured, gripping story of Mafia politics should steer clear of this one. It was a struggle to finish the book and it left me feeling sad that such a great writer should close his account with such a poor offering.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
I was first introduced to the works of Mario Puzo with his last unfinished piece called the family. I was so taken by the book, that I could not put it down. Subsequently, I purchased all his fictional books, Omerta being one of them.

If you have had the pleasure of reading any of Puzo's other fictional books, you'll notice the word Omerta is used on several occasions. This book explains the importance of Omerta in the Mafia underground, which brings a little understanding to some of Puzo's other works.

This is a great read filled with the usual Puzo twists and turns that keep you on your toes and prevents you from putting the book down. I really like the short chapters that develop different characters simultaneously.

If you like the Godfather, you'll enjoy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2002
Upon reading this book i like any other Godfather fan had some severe reservations, how could Puzo even come close to his original masterpiece? Well the man is a true genius of writing on the mystic world of mafioso and he has managed to accomplish what i regard as an impossible task - a more interesting book than the Godfather. Before you all start to curse me though it is important for me to note that he takes heavily from previous work and it is quite clearly a Puzo gangster book rather than a new concept. Ultimately my belief is that the Godfather rules supreme, however Omerta is a quality read blighted only by the fact i thought it too short (it took me 3 hours to read it). I'd reccomend you go and buy it now if you have any interest in Puzo and his work.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2011
This book is certainly not in the same league as The Godfather or The Sicilian (the other two Mario Puzo books I've read).

It's a fairly straightforward Mafia thriller but very far-fetched with nothing like the character development found in the aforementioned books. In fact, the characters are very wooden and not at all believable.

It's an easy read and there is some enjoyment to be had initially in the intricacies of the plot but even that starts to get a bit wearing and repetitive towards the end.

It just doesn't have any great depth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2000
This book has a lot to live up to with the other mafia stories that Puzo has given use. The characters are somewhat non-likable with it difficult to judge the main character Astorre. The story also keep jumping back and for and lacks continuaty, but did keep me interested in what would happen in the end. I would be very surprised if this story would make it to our TV screens as the Godfather(which I am a huge fan of) and the Last Don did.
So my final word is that a good read but only for true Puzo fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here