Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
18
4.3 out of 5 stars
An Italian Education
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 September 2017
I read this book as a preparation for a holiday in Italy. How watching them I look to see what sort of attributes I can spot and which ones I can't see. Tim Parks writes in a fluent easy to read style but he has phrases of Italian he uses frequently.

An interest in his children growing up in a different culture from his own is essential.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2017
Extremely good read. All sorts of gos about the Italian way of life and very funny to boot. Can't imagine why no one has made a TV series out of this yet. Plenty of interesting characters and adventures and beautifully written. Divertissimo!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2001
An Italian Education is an excellent sequel to Italian Neighbours. The subject matter this time is Parks's young family. Parks's 2 children, who he writes about with great fondness, are his primary source of anecdotes and observations. The writer's daughter, Stefi, is the star character in this book. She is depicted as cute and full of pluck.
Like the first book, this book is funny and perceptive; and the writing is a treat. Parks is an accomplished story-teller and very skilful at writing about characters and situations. He has a rare ability to get to the essence of things with minimal fuss. As I am also a foreigner living in Italy, I could relate very strongly to the stories in this book and my understanding of Italy and the Italians has certainly been enhanced by Parks's sharp observations.
A most satisfying and enjoyable book indeed.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2009
Thiis is an excellent follow on from Italian Neighbours. Parks write with a great love not only of his children (naturally) growing up in italy but of italy itself, its quirks, and peculularities. He says at the books beginning that he felt there might be too many italian words in the book on the contary i found this helped to put the book into context and brought it alive.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2001
In a very readable and delightful book, Tim Parks manages to capture to quintessential family life surrounding children growing up in Italy - trust me I was one of them !! Life at home, at school and at the summer seaside, are all affectionately captured by the author, as are the personal relationships with family, friends and neighbours. This is a book that everybody will enjoy, particularly touching and bringing back memories to those of us that grew up in Italy.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2009
There's a lot of over-sentimentalised books written about life in Italy, and this is far from being one of them. Having lived in Italy, I can say that Tim Parks' representations (of both Italians and his englishness) are accurate and humorously portrayed. He charts his children's education in Italy, seen from his english point of view, finishing with the Italian summer at the beach. It's funny and well-written insight into an Englishman and his family living in Italy. Read it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2011
Tim Parks has written a highly readable and perceptive account of his life in Italy. Unlike many English authors who write about the country he does not display any sense of smugness and has no complex of superiority! In fact he has so much integrated into Italian society that one might as well say he is Italian by now! He grasps the nouances of life in Italy from the point of view of a normal person living there, not a traveler, not a tourist, not a scholar. He can even make fun of Italians without being offensive. He also appreciates much that most foreigners miss. While the book was written in the nineties pretty much everything he says is still very much true ten years on. An open window into contemporary Italy. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2014
excellent. funny informative about Italian life.
easy Italian colloquialisms to learn in an easy way.
Recommend for anyone who wants a light engrossing read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2013
as I am also living abroad, this is a timeless book. I recognize most of the silly mishaps like we have here. ll is true and sometimes hilareous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2014
Amusing book about expat in Italy but somewhat repetitive.Worth a read anyway.The fishing saga hilarious.Try his book about Italian railways
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)