Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
94
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2017
The book provides a vivid (and uncomfortable) description of slum life in Dublin at the turn of the century and gives a fascinating account of the Irish war for independence from the Easter Rising of 1916 to the civil war of the early 1920s. It's let down hugely by the lead character Henry who is neither credible nor likeable. When I got to the end of the book I'd no interest in finding out about his future adventures in the second book in this trilogy. It's a big weakness as he is, as the book title indicates, fundamental to the story. Henry is anything but a star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
A good read. Have to keep reminding oneself that the 'hero' is a terrorist and a psycho.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
Brilliant book . Great characters written around real people . Funny , touching and gives you an insight into Irelands war of independence and civil war to follow . Couldn't put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2006
Roddy Doyle understands Dubliners, and paints very affectionate if 'warts and all' pictures of the city and its people. It's obvious that he loves the place. This particular book is about a character from the Dublin slums, his background and his involvement in the Easter Rising in 1916 and the subsequent War of Independence. A fascinating picture of these decisive events in the evolution of modern Ireland is painted, but it's not a dry old history book, full of opinion, 'armchair' patriotism or pompous waffling - anything but. I loved it, I laughed out loud in some places (if you're familiar with Dubliners you'll recognise some of the 'characters' and the 'goings on' of them) and I was very moved (the grinding poverty, the unrewarded heroism and terrible unfairness) in others. It's simply a wonderful book.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2006
This book is very different from the others, and absolutely brilliant. Doyle abandoned an excellent established, very successful, style and format to create a work that stands as a pinnacle of international literary achievement. Read "The Van" or "The Commitments" and you are in a world of poingant everyday comedy. Read "A Star Called Henry" and you so slip so deep into history that it comes as a shock to put the book down and return to the 21st century. What passion! What pathos! Don't miss this one. Read it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Not my kind of book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 1999
With what is certainly the last great Irish novel of the 20th century Roddy Doyle has written a startling novel of murder,love and revolution set against the backdrop of the formation and birth of the Irish Republic.
The book is a somewhat revisionist view of the Easter Rising and War of Independance but there is little of the stark sarcasm found in Joesph O'Connor's The Salesman when his central character relects on the nationalism of 60s Ireland. Henry Smart is a slum child who grows to fight with the Citizens Army for the cause of Socialism only to find that in the end his leaders, men like Collins and DeValera, has very little respect for his ideals. A ruthless soldier, he sees his Ireland shaping into a conservative, Catholic nation far removed from the concerns of those who lived in the squalor of inner city Dublin.
The novel is a brilliant and intense insight into this chapter of Irish history. You come away enlightened and with a perspective that challenges the traditional schoolbook teachings and folklore which surrounds this period of Irish Republicanism.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
This is a well-written novel that paints a vivid picture of late 19th/early 20th Century Dublin. Doyle clearly did his homework before writing this and various historical references within the novel show evidence of considerable research. However, these historical references have a tendency to become rather intrusive. At times I do get the impression that Doyle was more concerned with inserting historical references than with crafting an engaging story. The references to real-life figures can be confusing too.

For me, the primary drawback of this novel was its central character, Henry Smart (Jr). The first problem with the protagonist is that he is utterly charmless. At no point did I care what happened to him or those close to him and I did not feel that he had any redeeming features whatsoever. It's fine having a murderous psychopath as a central character, but there needs to be something about them that retains your interest in them (take Tony Soprano or Michael Corleone as a case in point). Henry just didn't do that for me. Not to mention the fact that the character of Henry is simply unbelievable - a barely pubescent kid in his early teens, with ladies falling at his feet at every turn, killing and maiming through sheer brute force? Come on. For a novel that is otherwise full of grit and honesty, this just isn't a credible characterisation. Considering what he achieved with "The Woman Who Walked into Doors", it surprises me to come across such transparent characters in this novel.

That being said, I like the way Doyle writes. The dialogue is authentic and engaging, and parts of the novel (especially those involving the protagonist's father) are very enjoyable. I couldn't decide whether to award this novel two stars or three, so I rounded up to three.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I enjoyed this once I got over my apprehension that it would glorify murder, maiming, and the IRA. In fact if anything the opposite is true. Henry clearly fell into his way of life, controlled by the IRA, by chance, mainly oblivious to the fact he was being manipulated. It's a very well written book and extremely informative about historical events during which the British did less than shine, especially the Easter Rising in 1916. The depiction of poverty in Ireland at the time is horrific, but the tone of the book remains detached and is often extremely funny. It was obviously meticulously researched, especially the section about the dockers.

I was disappointed to leave Henry where we did, and wanted to know "the end of the story," though he had at one point hinted at his end in South America. One point, I had reservations about the bloodthirsty Miss O'Shea and I refuse to believe he married her and never knew her Christian name.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2009
I loved this book but I don't buy a lot of what has been written about it.

Firstly, it is not a work of historical record, it is a work of fiction and, whilst it may be set in a time of great historical interest and many of the characters in the book are their real selves, it still only recounts events and circumstances readily available in public records and does not offer any new research or analysis. If, like me, you are interested in the history, then a few minutes spent understanding the basic events, characters and Dublin geography of the time will certainly help track the story as it unfolds.

Secondly, it is not an unbiased account, events are centred on the life of Henry Smart, fighting on the side of the embryonic Republican Army, and to suggest that it gives any degree of balance or any view from the other side is absurd.

What it does spectacularly well is to dramatise events, people and places and, in so doing, it brings to life the poverty, squalor and general hopelessness of many people's lives at the time, not just in Dublin but in the remote countryside as well. The sense of oppression, injustice and cause that came to prevail is graphically portrayed, as are the very different sympathies in play across a fragmented and confused population. Nowhere is this better expressed than in the very different reactions to the Easter Rising, on the one hand there are the women whose husbands were fighting and dying in the British Army in the trenches of Belgium whilst, on the other, are the women who joined Cumman na mBan, both quite valid standpoints but as far apart politically as you could get.

Nonetheless Henry Smart, our central character, is an amoral killer; however it is wrapped up in the sympathies of the time, and just like his father before him he is used by unscrupulous, amoral men who are just a bit cleverer than he is. Ian Fleming brought the character up to date, gave him a good cause or two, lightened him up a lot and called him James Bond, but essentially we have the same core, a killer, however bright, who is ultimately expendable.

Born into abject poverty in the slums of Dublin, Henry has three great attributes, he is physically big and strong, he has good looks which stop a woman in her tracks - from a very early age - and he is lucky. Put Henry into the historical context and present it with Doyle's superb control of Irish idiom and humour and you have a winner. It is an insight into ourselves, the fact that we can like Henry, this outcast hit-man, we can support one murderous side against another, and we can want the other fella dead.

Doyle's gritty realism helps make us believe it, that this is true history, that this has to be the way it was. Well, in my book, that's the definition of a good read.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here