Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
52
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 30 January 2009
This beautifully written and illustrated book is asked for again and again by my three year old twins. They adore all of the stories and it's definitely sparked their imaginations, whether it's setting up camp with a pretend tent in the living room or calling their pretend shop 'Lewis Burrows and Company'like Alfie's in the book. I'd highly recommend this book to parents wanting to read a gentle bedtime story to their children -you'll enjoy it as much as they will!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2010
Poppy loves this book. It is so nice. No nasty stuff just lovely stories and pictures.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Gorgeous stories and illustrations.Perfect for encouraging imaginative play for those lucky enough to have outside space.Good use of new language for children to learn.Cannot fault any of the Alfie story books.CRolynKillingley.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
This is a lovely set of stories, which all my children enjoy. Delightful characters and situations of everyday life. The book was used, but it very good condition as described by the seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
Ordered this just before Christmas, not expecting it to arrive before Christmas but it did. Bought for my 24 year old nephew after a nostalgic discussion about favourite childhood books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
The Alfie books by Shirley Hughes were a firm favourite of my daughter's when she was younger - in fact she still loves them now (she's 10). The illustrations are fabulous and this particular one is full of stories and poems that are real little gems. What better present could I give to my young 4 year old nephew? A joy to receive, a beautiful addition to any little person's bookshelf, and he will return to it again and again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
A book which recalls simpler times. My grandchildren love this series and its great to have several books to read. The text is clear and the pictures really lovely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Alfie is and ordinary boy, doing ordinary things, things that children can relate to. Well written and beautifully drawn pictures. I only wish there were more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
an excellent book bought for my little nephew because my own children had enjoyed it so much. The stories are enjoyable and the illustrations lovely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
gorgeous stories and illustration. Loved it when I was a child and now my partner is reading to his year 2 class at school. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse