Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2015
Delightful book by a very funny man. I read this very quickly as it was so interesting and amusing. Imam a contemporary of Michael and so was well acquainted with the stars of the golden age. it was fascinating to read about them and to see how a boy from a poor family made it in that milieu withou losing the essential of what he was. I would say this is a must for movies lovers of the age of what Imwould say we're 'real Stars'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2010
Having read the book I recommend this audio version,having the book read by the author himself (Micheal Caine) is superb.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Very amusing and a wonderful insight into this entertaining actor's life and loves. I have searched for this tape for a long time having initially purchased it as an impulse purchase about 15 years ago in Johannesburg---the original was spoileed in a faulty cassette player. Many thanks for the great service.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
I am thoroughly enjoying this interesting story. There is enough detail without it being boring and the on set tales and name dropping make a fascinating read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
I loved reading Michael's autobiography (his life). Once I started I just couldn't
stop reading his life story. His humble beginning from the Elephant and Castle,
to great success which has been recognised throughout his film career. Michael escaped the poverty that surrounded his upbringing. I was impressed
by his devoted and caring parents who worked hard. Michael had many times
over rewarded his mother which was greatly deserved.
Read this book, Michael Caine is a brilliant actor and is a legend of all times!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
One of the reviewers here criticises Caine (not his real name!) for name-dropping. This seems unreasonable - what else would he write about but filmstars? The engaging quality of this book is the way Caine describes his learning experiences - acting tricks, script problems, issues with friends, starry-eyed awe of famous people, Hollywood studios. One of his acting tricks was not to enter a room which was supposed to be new to the character, to give the authentic appearance of groping for light switches and watching for trip hazards. His writing style seems to reproduce something of the same feeling.

Fascinating to see how limited is the part played (pun intended) by actors. Most films start with a script - but the locations, ambience, general feeling, final form of the plot and practically everything else are jointly assembled to such an extent it's quite surprising the process works at all. And maybe it doesn't - this book was written as Hollywood was starting to decline, if I've understood the figures. Quite a few directors are (of course) discussed, and their quirks. Producers less so, and contractual details and such things as dubbing and foreign rights and videos and repeat fees and the general life-cycle of films hardly at all.

Caine's early films, and the 1960s of which there's a very colour supplementy description, made the most impression on him. In retrospect they're a bit small-scale compared with Sean Connery, for example. 'The Ipcress File' is a rather small-scale spy thing, 'Get Carter' (with the the multistorey car park, still talked off in Newcastle until its demolition). 'Alfie' had an abortion sub-plot - his early films all had the element of violence which I think was helped by technological improvements - cameras were smaller and film faster, so places like rail stations and hotel foyers and views through car windows were easier to film. However judging by this book Caine had little interest in such things, confining his comments to the angles of shots and smog. There's stuff on such topics as dried camel dung in Sahara windstorms, Filipino poverty with sad young women used as prostitutes, Almeira and spaghetti westerns, Hollywood as the actual place-name with its seediness. He says quite a bit about the quirks of directors which felt to me a bit overdone - it's largely a technical job and screaming and shouting seem inconsistent with worrying over the details of continuity and lighting and emotion.

He seems to have had little idea of which films would be successful, and doesn't seem to have cared, since in the short term he was paid about the same amount. However he's a bit scathing about 'The Magus', and about his killer bees film (which incidentally must be one of the earlies uses of blue screens) - the one that wrecked his name in the USA. In the days before digital editing, film cutting was literally that; it must have taken forever.

The later parts of the book deal with Labour and high taxation - many people of 'talent' emigrated. And his Windsor house and departure to Los Angeles. And with his identifying his wife, a Kashmiri who appeared in a coffee TV advert and whom he tracked down - his write-up makes this sound quite an adventure, which, surely, can't have been the case, as he must have known how to locate actresses. Incidentally she is (or was) a Muslim and this may be related to Camoron's adoption of Caine for political purposes. And his connection with Langan's Brasserie. There's an account of 'Also Sprach Zarathustra' as the theme for 2001, the music borrowed by Stanley Kubrick from Elstree library, perhaps with 'The Blue Danube'. It occurs to me that some of the footage for the moon landings must have been Kubrick's work. Caine mentions nuclear weapons, the Vietnam War and other public events.

I have to be honest and say I didn't finish the book, as I regard many films as propagandist and/or silly and catchpenny, aimed at the proles. However it does appear to be authentic; there are a few minor errors suggesting a light editorial hand.
66 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
I really enjoyed reading this book - it took me a while but it's the sort of book that you can pick up and put down. Recommended reading..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
I read an extract from Michael Caine's book in a GCSE English exam paper and thought it was very interesting therefore I purchased 'What's it all about?'; however, the extract was not from this book - it must have come from a biography rather than the autobiography. Nevertheless, I really enjoyed reading this book as Michael has lived an interesting life and his stories brought to life an era of history that is synonymous with social, cultural and political change.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Good autobiography in a easily read slightly chatty style. Amazing to know how he pulled himself up to become the star he is
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
I was glued to this book. When reading it I imaged Michael talking directly to me, like in his movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)