Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
23
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2017
Peter Clines Ex series are intelligent and entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
I really enjoyed the first three Ex Hero books and hoped for more of the same .This one takes a different turn and I found myself skipping through a lot of it just to get it finished. If you're after more zombie action from the Ex Heroes then you won't read any until you're well over half way through and I found the whole theme of the main story throughout a step into the ridiculous ( yeah I know it's about superheroes ) I feel it was a book to far in the series from Mr Clines .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
A book in the Science fiction genre can easily get wrapped up inside itself if it not careful e.g. a dream on top of a vision, set in a future alternative world. Juggling all these concepts and creating a novel that is entertaining and at least in some way believable is not easy. This is proven in Peter Clines' `Ex-Purgatory', the fourth outing in the Ex series. Our heroes are used to being surrounded by the undead, but at the start of this novel they wake up in their old lives. What is a dream and what is a reality?

`Ex-Purgatory' is a slow burn of a book as Clines never reveals his cards too quickly. As someone who has not read the earlier books in the series I was unaware of the characters as they were introduced one by one. Fans will not have the same problem as me; why are we following a janitor around? However, they too may be a little put out by the pacing. The first half of the book is almost an awakening. George Bailey works as a handyman on a campus, but after meeting a strange student he starts to wonder if he has super strength. Over the next couple of hundred pages, he slowly realises that he may have links to someone called St George.

This part of `Ex-Purgatory' may be slow, but is well written. Clines jumps between George's seeing real life and one that is an apocalyptic future. Some of the best scenes are when an ordinary situation morphs into a horrific one, only to jump back again. Clines has a great way of writing zombie attacks, the way that their teeth crumble on super hard skin means that the fights are far more interesting than your average man versus deadite story.

Where I felt the story began to unravel coincided with the unravelling of the character's reality. I will not go into detail as it will spoil the plot. All I can say is that reality sits on top of reality too many times. You get the uneasy feeling that `it was all a dream' comes into play. The issue with this narrative mechanic is that you feel cheated as what happens does not really count. Coupled with this is the fact that the `twist' was visible from only a few chapters in. Clines gives too many clues to what is happening; making it obvious for any genre fan (and if you are planning to read a book about superheroes and zombies, my guess is you are a fan of genre books!)

`Ex-Purgatory' is not all bad. The action sequences are excellent and there is a lot of fun to be had, certainly at the start, as George and Co. jump from normality into a hellish alternative world. Fans of the series will get a lot from seeing the superheroes of earlier books as their alter egos. People new to the series don't miss out too much either as the reveals later in the book will come as more of a surprise.

I reviewed the unabridged audiobook version of `Ex-Purgatory' from Audible, narrated by Jay Snyder. Although the writing came through, at times the narration itself was a little deadpan for my taste; the characters rarely had the emotion the words suggested. Snyder was not always distinctive enough with the different characters, in particular the female roles. Earlier audio versions of the `Ex Series' have had a cast of several voice actors; I think this would have worked better in the scenes where dialogue bounced back and forth. Reviewed originally for bookbag.com.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
Had a little trouble getting into this one as the overall tone changed a bit. That said, once the action started to begin and the story ''matured' I enjoyed it. The pace picks up in the third section and the formula continues much as it has in the other books of the series.
To some degree the finales have become similar but then the heroes have a set of abilities that in someway dictate this. All in all another good heroes vs undead outing.
Please remember to read the books before this first as the story continues!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
As with the other books in the series the author delivers a smart,exciting and at times funny series of events for our much loved heroes to overcome.
I for one hope that we get to return to the mount and share some more adventures with the gang....roll on book 5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
The Ex novels get better and better with each consecutive novel. No spoilers but as the Ex universe grows there is more scope for larger stories with more characters. This novels takes a slightly different approach to the previous ones and that is a good thing as it keeps the story fresh and better yet keeps the reading guessing as to what is going to happen next.
Can't wait for Ex 5 to be released and surely by now someone must be looking at this series as a possible movie or even tv series?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
Picked up the first two in the series from Local supermarket, couldn't put the things down, much like Matthew Reilly, Peter Clines writes movies in a book format, I love this series, can't wait for the 5th one!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Okay it was somewhat derivative but I enjoyed it. As much as most of the series is St George & Stealth heavy, some focus on some of the less celebrated characters would be nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
I've got two young kids. Normal pattern is download a book and read it in 5 minute chunks when I get a chance. I read this in 3 hours straight. Worthy #4, looking forward to#5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Enjoyed the whole series. Although not completely original subject matter, the books are still fresh and engaging. Can't wait for next book to come out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse