Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2016
If you were drawn to Peter Clines' Ex-Heroes series for the canny manipulation of the zombie and superhero genres, and were delighted by the superb origin provided for the universe and the canny way the first two books both built on and subverted your expectations, then you'll be equally excited about this, the third in the series. So prepare to...

...be astounded! As the first quarter of the book basically recaps the first two, adding nothing new!
...thrill! As the four most powerful characters sit down to an awkward dinner party!
...delight! As discussions are had about forthcoming mayoral elections! That never happen!
...marvel! At the use of poorly-explained and motivated magic! Yes! Actual magic!
...cheer! As Stealth becomes a thinly-motivated info-dumping machine! Because stuff's gotta come from somewhere!
...gasp! At the off-handed use of zombies to provide a bit of gore when you start to realise nothing has happened yet!
...gast your flabber! At lots of lunk-headed reflection on death, religion, resurrection, and morals!
...and wonder! As the plot only really gets going with about 50 pages remaining!

It's not great, is what I'm saying. If Ex-Heroes and Ex-Patriots lifted Clines of the upper echelons of the speculative SF genre, Ex-Communication brings him thundering back down again with leaden-footed exposition, alarmingly pointless "Then" chapters that provide really nothing of any interest from the past (which were previously the best parts of these books), and a tin ear for dialogue, character motivation, human interaction, and anything approaching consistency within his own narrative. And the pop culture references are hideously forced now, too.

Shame, really, as the first two books are great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Again, this book is as good as the first two. New horrors are introduced and with them come new crises.
If you enjoyed he first two books you will definitely love this one too.
There are yet more twists and turns, further development of characters (Stealth is slowly becoming less robotic)and there is an utterly gripping battle.
A great read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
The third in the EX series by Peter Cline and another brilliant book. If you have not heard of this series yet then go and get Ex-heroes and the Ex-patriots, could be described as zombies vs superheroes but they are so much more.
Peter Clines has added more of everything to the new novel and I can guarantee you will love this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
The Zombie apocalypse has happened, and the survivors in LA are protected by a few superheroes... the adventure continues!

(Suggest new readers read Ex-Heroes and Ex-Patriots first)

There's quite a bit less focus on some characters (the Driver, Cerberus, off the top of my head) but otherwise the usual gang (Mighty Dragon, Stealth, Zzzzap!, Captain Freedom) get plenty of page time. I'd like to see them venture beyond the mount to see who's left out there in the world. I think a couple more books and there'd be enough for a TV series (I wish!) as Zombie stuff is still popular (Walking Dead, World War Z etc).

Rattled it off in a day, biggest downside for me is the wait for more :(

It's an easy read, entertaining, with likeable characters and plenty of potential (rest of the world to explore!) to expand the series. For anyone wondering whether to jump in on the Ex-Heroes, start with book 1 and 2 before getting this, just so you know who the characters are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
I know the author does not like spoilers given out in these reviews, so I wont. Readers of the first two books need not worry, its on par with the brilliant standards already set by Mr Clines.
Trilogies often lose their way and try to add to much in attempts to bring something new to the mix and for while I started to get concerned this might by the case, but the new character(s) and introduction of a different threat facing the heroes totally works.
Brilliant book that's brilliantly written if these books don't get made into films I will amazed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Bringing the initial arc of the superhero and zombie series to a conclusion.
Once more an amazingly well written story bringing many of the threads from the earlier books to a conclusion.
Brilliantly brings the zombie and superhero genres together in a natural believable and consistent fashion.

Would recommend to any zombie or superhero fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
As with so many series the following books seems to go down hill, but since the first book of the Ex series was so frigging high there's a long way to go down before his book could ever get dull. Highly recommended for zombie fans who want something slightly different. Never thought it would work with super heroes... but it definitely does.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
I've been waiting ages for this book and now it's arrived I've got to wait for the next one. This is probably the best series of books I've read in quite a while the characters are well defined and the story is great can't help wondering what the next threat to the mount will be
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Really enjoyable book, I hardly breathed in the last quarter or so. So pleased to see Peter get picked up by a major publisher. He should have been ages ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed the ongoing saga. I'm not really any good at in depth reviews so I have kept it short and sweet. Get it you won't be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here