Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2013
Loved this book, full of the real ups and downs of a woman doctor in an era that did not accept women in this type of roll.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
Good book,, however,did hope it featured more stories rather than training heavily. more,medical exploits.
Nonetheless, brilliant book to read .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I was very disappointed with this book. I bought it under the impression that she was a nurse who became a doctor. Well, she did but not a doctor in a hospital, nor a G.P. which she had said she wanted to be or as she put it A Family Doctor. It seemed to me she was actually an 'exam junkie' going from exam to exam, as a perpetual student for years before eventually getting a job as a Public Health Officer. A doctor, but one who didn't have any responsibility for patients as a hospital doctor or a G.P. would do. Her experience as a hospital doctor was limited to a brief time in Casualty, and a month as a locum to a G.P. She was honest when she said that she didn't want to practice surgery, and indeed on the one occasion she was called on to operate on a small child to remove her appendix, the operation was cancelled when the child vomited, to her great relief. The writing style is ponderous and old fashioned, and her use of the words 'always' and 'within' I found tedious. No-one ever worked, but gave 'service' and they all gave service 'within the walls of' which is a bizarre way to write in this day and age. So... would I recommend this book? No-not really.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
I have been reading this book for about 3 weeks now, as I only have time to read at breakfast. What an author Georgie is, she takes the reader right in to her world and carries them with her. I almost feel as if I know her personally and have travelled with her through her school days, interviews, exam nerves and mother-hood. A wonderful read to start the day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Fascinating story of a lady who was prepared tp work and fight for what she was determined to do. And she managed to fit in marriage and a family. Really enjoyed this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
This lady has worked so hard to reach her dreams . . . A good, solid, interesting read and a reminder of why we should be kind to junior doctors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Expectations not met, too predictable. I kept expecting something big to happen and was disappointed. Lacked pace for obvious conviction.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
an interesting look into one womans journey into becoming a nurse followed by a doctor at a time when there weren't many female doctors
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
I enjoyed this book and learned a lot from reading it. Would definitely recommend it to others! Very well written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Well written and informative, certainly worth the cost and a book I think I will read over and over again
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)