Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2013
Wow. Irv, the previous reviewer, is pretty bitter. I suppose he hasn't actually read the book. But just saw the name and had to spew some venom and bile.

CW did what ten thousand other cyclists have done at the works championships. He put his trade team, the people who pay his wages 365 days a year, infront of his country, who expect his total loyalty one day of the year. CW lived in Italy, rode for an Italian team, and rode for his Italian team leader, and doubtless followed orders from those who paid his wages. So what ? Most of us would have done the same. Like it or not.

Until very recently, GB was an also ran in world cycling. We didn't have Cav to win sprints. Or Wiggins and Froome. For most of my time as a cyclist we were lucky to get a finisher. I remember when Robert Millar got a top ten finish. He did it with the massive help of an Australian, Alan Pieper. Alan wasn't a traitor to Australia. They both rode for Peugeot, and Alan knew it made more sense to ride for Robert, his team mate, team leader and friend. That's how cycling worked back then, and still does, in most cases.

So it might be useful, Irv, if you read the book and gave an honest review. Rather than spew hate about something that happened over a decade ago. I'm sure you're pure and honest, and have never done anything that was contradictory and based on expediency. But in the real world, people do what what they have to do. He might not have liked doing it. He might have hated it. But those who pay the wages and have control of next years contract, call the tune.

I've never met CW. But to call him a traitor and give him one star is pretty pathetic. You need to wake up and understand how cycling and the world really works. Grow up. Riding a few Sportifs and reading Cycling Weakly for a year isn't the same as being a domestique and riding Grand Tours in the hardest, most brutal sport in the world.
0Comment| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
Before the advent of team sky, Cav & Wiggo mania, cycling was a peculiar sport in Britain practised by few and understood by even less, most participants like myself had a Father or other introduction to the sport, very few kids in the late 70's and 80's grew up wanting a road bike, never mind a professional cycling career.

Robert Millar's tour exploits were 5 minutes on World of Sport on Saturday lunchtime, and you waited every week for your copy of 'Cycling' to find out what had happened in the tour, live coverage in English on tv? Forget it, when Channel 4 did 30 minutes of Tour de France every night I thought it would never get better than this, but it did, big time.

Against this backdrop, that a lad from York with no connection to the sport went abroad alone at 17, turned pro and remained employed for over a decade is nothing short of amazing.

To paraphrase Paul Sherwen on Charly's first Pro contract, 'many get a first pro deal, not many get a second', eleven year's worth is a tale in itself, with to the outside world no obvious wins to justify it; there's patently a great story to be told.

To have raced at the highest level with Evans, Basso, Cipo, Freire et al in the world's biggest races, adds to the spice but at the end of the day it's a tale of a true professional, and the realities of life once the scales have fallen from the eyes and a living has to be made.

It's a must read for anyone wanting to understand modern professional cycling, whether you're a 'mamil' inspired by Wiggo to buy a bike for the first time in 20 years or a 40 something life-long cyclist like me, who rode & raced with plenty of great cyclists who never made it - the story is even more remarkable.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Say what you like about Lance Armstrong, since his bust, the shelves have been awash with English language memoirs of the mid 90's peoloton. Tending to fall into two camps; confessional (Tyler) and 'roll with it' (Yates), this is firmly in the latter camp. No drugs tales, no doping dilemmas just the grind of the job - fair play to Wegelius; he makes it clear he is no snitch and, judging by his salary for half his career, I am amazed he was able to pay for petrol much less EPO so I take it as it comes.
And it comes...patchily. Sad to say, this a fantastic story hampered by some shoddy ghost writing. Tyler Hamilton's book has been re-read three times. Why? Because, despite his use of an amanuensis, it's his voice that shines through. Likewise with Yate's biog. Here, the voice at times veers towards Alan Partridge ('I, quite literally, had the last laugh'. Maybe not, but you get the gist) or a foul mouthed 16 year old. I am not squeamish about bad language but there are some pages where you suspect that Charly's sole adjective begins with 'F'.
Criticism aside, it is well worth reading - 20 years ago, he would have been a legend, on a par with Sean Yates or Neil Stephens, the plucky super domestique sacrificing his career for the good of the team, grist to the mill of the British clubman. You only have to look at the cover photo to see just how much he has aged in his time on the bike, to see 'that hard work never hurt anyone' is utter rubbish - he buried himself day in, day out for very little in the way of recognition.
It's his memories of that time which make it worth getting. The best bit, as someone who waded through Pro Cycling and Cycle Sport month in, month out, throughout the 90's and noughties, are the bits of insider gossip - Friere, Rominger, most of Mapei all come out of it very well, Cipollini all the more so, Pantani the enigma, Ullrich the good egg. I know folks will read this and gnash their teeth that he doesn't spill the beans, but it's not his job to - there's plenty of books out there to name names - much more interesting to me is to actually know what a night out with Cipollini was actually like. Brilliant, by the sounds of things.
There are some gaps. He says little about Wiggins, odd seeing that they roomed together in the High Peak at the start of their careers and you feel he holds back regards British Cycling, but that's just niggles.
If you can get past the cack handed prose, it is perhaps one of the most honest and insightful books I've ever read about the British experience in professional cycling.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
A must read.

Amazon please remove the comment by irv - it is not about the book and as stated in the other review the guy is talking about something he has no real world understanding of.
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
Life is cynical. In this ghosted memoir Charly Wegelius relates his story from darling of British Cycling to eventually making his name in the peloton with many setbacks in between.

He never won a race as a pro. The pressure of team leadership exposed his limitations whereas he felt comfortable as a support rider. The Grand Tours became his metier, particularly the Giro d'Italia, which he regarded as his own race. If the Vuelta taught him how to survive, the Tour emerges as big, brash and lacking glamour with no time to relax. Riders feel stressed, particularly in the first week, when there are frequent accidents.

For Wegelius, doping was a personal thing. This avoids the issue. However, it was routine and he explodes the myth of omerta. Unusually, but not uniquely, he had a naturally high haematocrit level which, although accepted by the UCI, left him feeling vulnerable, his career innocently threatened by nature.

Nadir came at the 2005 world road race championships in Madrid. Without any naïve patriotism, Wegelius was riding for a living and a future. Although raced in national teams, it was not unknown for a rider to help a commercial teammate, for money. Wegelius struck a deal with the Italians at their instigation. The fallout affected him and a teammate who had been complicit in the arrangement. Both were banned for life from the national team. Further afield, the GB team manager resigned.

With maturity, Wegelius became a sage within the peloton. However, the Tour of 2010 became one Tour too many. Mentally and physically exhausted, disillusioned by the fickleness of pro cycling, he needed change. Marriage brought him the support and consistency that he had not known for a long time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
I remember Charly's last Tour and his sudden disappearance from the sport soon after.

This book seemed to offer answers to why that happened and it provided some good broad brushstrokes across his history. It doesn't go deep enough into what actually happened. I am sure that Charly would say that this is due to the Lawyers valuable input but it left me feeling like I was reading a light summary of what actually happened.

It doesnt change my view of him. His career demands respect, but I get the feeling that an unauthorised biography rather than the autobiography may shed more light on the details behind the stories he tells.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
I enjoyed the first few chapters, which concentrate on Charly's early career, but then I got a bit fed up reading about how hard it was being a pro cyclist - I kind of guessed that it might be a bit hard without him reminding me every chapter. I find it hard enough dragging myself up slight inclines, and have watched pro racing for long enough, to know that it's a bit more difficult than my poor efforts. I also found the chapter dedicated to his "positive" test rather pointless, especially as the introduction stated that the book was not about doping; to then go on and dedicate a chapter to how he had a naturally high hematocrit level did not sit comfortably with me - especially when other parts of the book referenced the need for altitude training. I had approached this book with an open mind, but after reading it feel that he was less than honest about what happened during his time as a pro. This could have been an excellent read but fell short. The omerta has a tight grip; providing a "disclaimer" at the beginning of the book that the decision was to not concentrate on doping is a complete cop out.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
Having previously read 'the secret race' by Tyler Hamilton I was hungry for more shenanigans from within the peleton so I quickly scooped up Charlie's book. However, although it is informative, insightful and witty in places, I couldn't help but yawn and skip pages due to similarly bleak anecdotes where nothing really exciting happens, there's a lack of truly interesting content. Middle of the road for this book I think.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
Great to read about the sport from someone right in it but not one of the glamour boys. Charly is one of the guys employed to help someone else win. And this is a curious context in which to be given you are also an awesome athlete. We glimpse in the end that this might be a lifetimes regret (hopefully not, from the tone of the book it is evident that things are still raw, hope time brings a more philosophical peace of mind for Charly).

Fairly gritty narrative about the sport, we know intellectually this is a hard life but Charly's fairly frank discussion reveals it's dynamics just that little bit more honestly than we're used to.

Also interesting insights into : Britain's irritating, officious cycling council (though there are definitely two sides to this story because Charly, I do understand your point but you should occassionally ride for your country for free as most of us would given half a chance - it is an honour); Italian culture (LOVE them); Spain's dope control protocol and ... that it really isn't a fairytale.

For this year's tdf, I'm going to get the team listings, highlight the charlys and look out for yet another strand in the wonderful multiplex of professional cycling. Vive la domestique!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
A good book for enlightening starry eyed amateurs about the shady world of pro cycling, spoilt by the constant inclusion of bad language. Why authors think a cart load of Anglo-Saxon expletives will increase sales I just don't know. This language is fine for the factory floor or the peloton, but has no place in a book. I almost gave up on it after two chapters. I'm pleased I didn't as Charly has a salutary tale to tell of an insecure world, and you do feel empathy for him. His version of the betrayal of the British team in the world championships (for 30 pieces of silver read 2,500 euros) does little for him other than highlight the murky scene he was part of. He's quite right that the expectation that riders work for free for another pro is wrong. However, betraying your country is not an action that finds favour with either fans or the public at large, and I'm sure his action closed more doors than it opened.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)