Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2017
Pick it up and look forward to a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
The only problem with the Mountains of the Moon was I wasn't sure where Hodder was going to be able to go from there. With The Secret of Abdu El-Yezdi, he showed us where, or whereS with a capital "S". There is no end to the amount of adventures the intrepid adventurer and his De Sade devotee sidekick can go.

And this, the first in the continuing adventures, packed a lot of possibilities into the punch. Most of the characters you've come to know and love and even revile are here in this ever changing tempestuous temporal tale. I never like to just spout off the plot in a review, you can read a synopsis elsewhere. What I want to get across is the sheer genius of Hodder's storytelling and his mastery of the time travel element. We, as the reader, are left knowing more than Burton as the story begins and from our omniscient point of reference we can see just how convoluted is the time stream. Reference is made to the other stories where needed to refresh our memories and the whole story flows in an organic and satisfying direction.

Needless to say I loved this latest installment as much, if not more, than the others, because I can see the future unfurling for Burton and Swinburne.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Welcome to the Urban World of Yesteryear in this fourth exciting outing for Burton and Swinburne. As with the other titles in the series it brings together a whole host of elements There's a whole host of twists and turns, has some thrilling action sequences and when added to characters that will twist your comprehension of not only time but personality quirks all round makes this a book that is a joy to sit back with.

Add to the mix a cracking overall arc, some top notch dialogue which when backed with the authors own identifiable writing style all round makes this a book that will give you a wonderful time between the pages. Great stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2016
At the end of the previous trilogy it looked as though there was nowhere left to go in this series of books. All of the major players were accounted for, most in entirely final ways, and Sir Richard Francis Burton had himself become the ultimate architect of all of the woes that had befallen them. It was a bleak place. At first, as this novel opens, I thought Hodder had pulled a daring cheat, simply rebooting his universe and starting all over again. It’s more dizzying than that however, for the very fact that the universe is rebooted becomes a critical plot point, linking a new reality to the old one. Familiar faces meet again for the very first time, and there are added levels of tension around those meetings, donated wholly by the context of what went before but no longer happened. Except it did.

That’s parallel universes for you.

If it sounds headache inducing, then I’m misrepresenting. At the forefront of the plot is a take on Dracula that you haven’t seen before, and it offers a fast-paced, sometimes grim, often comic narrative to keep things rolling along. Beneath the surface though, these books have become immense. Context provided by things which did not ever happen, as well as things which did, play with the readers expectations as familiar themes and characters are reintroduced - sometimes subverting them, sometimes rewarding them. It’s a tremendous storytelling feat that could only have been accomplished over the course of a series which isn’t frightened to burn its bridges, and never forgets where the bodies lie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
The Batman and Robin of Victorian London are back on track with this new adventure, taking them into yet another distorted time to meet up with altered versions of prior friends and enemies. My only criticism is Hodder's including a rewrite of Bram Stoker's Dracula as part of the proceedings, though at least it serves to create atmosphere and advance the plot. Better than Blackwood & Harrington or Newbury & Hobbes, I'm looking forward immensely to Tales of a Discontinued Man and the return of a (if not the) Springheeled Jack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Set in the Victorian era, but not as we know it, full of historical characters, but not as we know them. A rip roaring ride of mystery, action and tragedy. Nods are given to Dracula and Frankenstein.

Definitely one ton add to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2016
It took a page or two to catch on to where ( or when) we were, kept me hooked to the end. The late sir Terry Pratchet has been my author of choice until I stumbled across mr Hodder. Back to the shop for the next instalment now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
If you liked the previous books then i don't think this one will disappoint. It's even got "vampires".
I have to say that i saw part of the end coming, but it was still very good.
10/10 - again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
Bought it for my fiance who loves this series :) Historical steampunk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
great book well up to the previous ones in the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here