Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
165
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2016
Brilliant thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
Bought as a gift and very much appreciated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Pratchett and the team do it again. Great read. If I had my way, the "Science of Discworld" books would be required reading in schools
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2016
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Real science, mixed in with some Discowrld... what's not to like
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
Brilliant as usual
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
'Science of Discworld' continues to be a slightly misleading name for this series, which is actually about real science using the Discworld as a framework and a metaphor. This fourth book is set around a Discworld court case, in which the Omnian religion is suing the Unseen University for ownership of the Roundworld.

This is one of the best science books I've read. It deals with some of the more controversial topics - the origins of the universe in particular - but in way that doesn't lecture and doesn't condescend. The writers also take the time to examine the current leading theories in a critical manner, unlike most books which can present the flavour of the month as hard and fast fact with only a small nod to future research. Here Cohen and Stewart don't shy away from acknowledging holes in our knowledge, and that only helps to emphasise one of their core messages: that science is all about doubting and testing your ideas.

Like the previous books, the chapters alternate between fiction and fact, and the Discworld story contained the usual wit and charm, although the individual chapters and the story as a whole are all too short. In contrast, the science chapters in several places are too long, and I found my attention drifting.

In combination, a welcome taste of the Discworld universe between the main novels, and an in-depth and fascinating insight into the real world of science and where it might be heading in the next few decades. I thoroughly recommend this as a great read which both educated and entertained.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
This is an intriguing debate as to the merits of religious belief, ordinary social belief and science. Themes are drawn from history, theology, and the evolution of the scientific method. Worth reading if only to provoke actual thinking. Only read this if you like to think and can cope with uncertainty. Or maybe not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)