Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2017
A detailed account of John Gotti's life. The book also contains a lot about Sammy Gravano and his rise to power. You get a lot of information about the trials that John Gotti went through and also how easy it is to get away with a crime through a little intimidation and bribery. I also think that John Gotti is a bit hypocritical when he goes around talking about the rules of Cosa nostra and that they must be obeyed, then he goes and breaks several of those rules himself. He talks about how Paul Castellano did not earn the position of boss because he had not put in enough work, then he does exactly the same thing, by making his son the boss after him. All in all this is a good book and should be read if you are interested in knowing more about John Gotti and his crew.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
A good read. I felt it dragged on in place's and a lot of info about the court sides things which can get tiring. But I enjoyed even if it lost me in places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
The book is well titled, giving a great description of Gotti' s rise and fall. Three quarters of the way through I gave up, finding it difficult to keep up with a LOT of different names, agencies and area authorities. I decided to skim through to the ending but discovered some drama there that made me go back to where I was and finish it proper. Reflecting, it is presses on political angles on both sides of the law and gave a good description of a cat and mouse game. Excellent read!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Definitely worth a read for anybody who is a fan of true crime, the New York City Mafia or just Gotti. Well written and provides a lot of background information.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Smashing insight to the gambino crime family and the life of John Gotti. Very detailed and well written. Top marks
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
Seems to be factually correct, gives a good insight into the rise of Gotti and the agents trying to bring him down. The timeline of events is good.

The one criticism is that it is not always clear how true the excerpts of Gotti and others are. Clearly there was not an undercover mole/bug/tape present at every conversation. The author does clarify at the end that some of the conversations are based on what the informers have told him and deciphered through interviews/conversations and tapes.

A good read all in all as to how Gotti was brought down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
We have a morbid fascination with the underworld & this book offers insight into one of the most intriguing characters of modern Cosa Nostra. A great read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
very well-written account most enjoyable read excellent detail could,nt put it down highly recommend it
one for the home library
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
Would have liked an appendix to say what happened in his last 10 years. Otherwise an excellent book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
Excellent book about the famous mob boss . Doesn't just tell a story but also reveals something sbout the personalities, motivations and chatacters of not only Gotti but also of his friends, cohorts and rivals. Can sometimes be a little difficult to keep track of all the people mentioned but I don't think this is the fault of the authors as it's true to life they had to account for all these people's roles within the story. Helpfully though when a charqcter hasn't appeared for a while they offer reminders of their previous story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)