Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
35
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2010
This is a deeply disturbing book that I read in the first instance out of curiosity. How is it possible for a thirteen-year old girl from a warm and loving family, still at school and living at home, to become enmeshed in the sex trade? The answer is: like this.

'The End of My World' is the frankly horrifying account of an innocent youngster targeted by calculating criminals. With astonishing courage and remarkable honesty, Emma describes how she was systematically groomed for teenage prostitution by the leader of a gang that preyed on girls in her class. The pimp at the heart of the operation lulled Emma into a sense of safety and coerced her through what appeared to be friendship, ensuring that this bright and successful schoolgirl was thoroughly trapped before he turned on her.

Repeatedly raped, exploited, beaten and subject to terrible threats, Emma eventually found the strength to break out of the insidious gang-culture that had enveloped her. Her book will bring understanding and hope to parents and victims alike. But this isn't a story that you are going to forget. `It couldn't happen to my kid,' you'll say. Think again. Read the book. It could be happening to someone you know right now.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2011
This is not the sort of book I would normally read, however, I found Emma's account of her experiences truly shocking. This young girl breaks all stereotypes of the sex industry and shows that this is something that could happen to anyone.

What I found most compelling about the novel is the way in which Emma describes the grooming process. It is so contrived, that, even as a reader, you are left wondering how the events unfold.

It is important to always be mindful of the fact that Emma comes from a loving family home and it is because of this that she found the strength to break free from her situation and rebuild her life.

I would like to take this opportunity to wish Emma the very best for the future, a remarkable young girl with a story that seems extraordinary, when in fact, the reality is, that this could happen to anyone.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2011
i read this book in one evening .It is very well written and well done to "emma" for being brave enough to tell her story .This book should be made available in every school and discussed in classes .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
I bought & read this book in less than 12 hours.. I couldn't put it down.. It's such a gripping story, I would certainly suggest buying it. Emma is my age (in fact, only a month younger than me) and the thought of anyone going through that makes me shudder.. I hope she can live her life in happiness now.. well worth the money..
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Sadly for all concerned this book reminded me so much of the one called Girl A. Sadly this shows how common this issue is becoming. The authorities don't know how to deal with it due to the closed shop attitudes of these communities, the racial accusations that seem to scare everyone, the lack of real teeth in investigations and the pathetic decision making of the CPS. Dysfunctional families don't help but sadly any thing person from any background is now vulnerable to this issue and that is very concerning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2010
Truly amazing book, the best true story i have ever read, cant believe how these things happen and are still happening. would def recommend this book to everyone. Although this is very disturbing its amazing how this person has overcome what has happened and is telling her story which may help others in the same situation.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2011
A very moving story portraiting how our children can so easily be groomed.. easy to read.. increasing awareness of sexual exploitation..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
The issue of sex slavery, particularly in teens, has been in the media a lot lately. I'm sure some people reading this will remember Eastenders running a story in which Whitney fell into this - but surely Whitney was from a troubled family and had a traumatic past - surely normal, sensible, happy girls don't fall into this trap?

I have to admit that was probably my naive way of thinking before reading this book- I think I imagined that girls who fell into this world were probably either abused, or seeking love and affection they weren't receiving at home.

The book doesn't go straight into the action, as it were . Emma spends a lot of time laying the groundwork, establishing for the reader a good understanding of her family dynamic and her own personality. As the book progresses, it doesn't get much faster, but she describes in detail the way in which she was groomed, over a long period, by her eventual abusers. It started small - a chance conversation with a couple of boys her own age, before being introduced to their friends, and eventually to an ever expanding circle of Asian men .

She began to feel grown up - the illicit cigarettes and the swigs of neat vodka, the rides in expensive cars, and the games of pool in the pub all making her feel grown up and sophisticated. We see how the secretiveness crept in -how Emma stopped mentioning her new friends to her parents for fear they would find out about her drinking and stop her seeing them.

When the book does turn to the much nastier side of things, descriptions are brief and to the point. There is, refreshingly, no excessive detail . To some readers it might be a negative, as it perhaps makes things seem less shocking than they are. However, in my mind, this is actually a positive - whilst the scenes are still uncomfortable to read, they are not something I would hesitate in letting a mature teenager read - and I do think actually this book has some value in that, since it does go into detail about the grooming process, perhaps it can give teen readers, and their parents, an idea of warning signs to look out for.

I think this is an interesting read . It's not the most enjoyable read, understandably given the subject matter, but it sheds some light on the grooming process, and busts the myth that only troubled girls with bad upbringings find themselves in these situations. 4 stars .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
A really good read, makes reader realise that this type of thing dose happen and to anyone which is a scary thought, hope the author is pleased with there achievements to raise awareness on such a taboo topic, even after such an awful experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2011
absolutely loved this book - couldnt put it down. i found it mirrors the life of many young girls these days - peer pressure, alcohol, 'soft' drugs, smoking etc but mainly the innocence/ naivety of everything to do with boys. best book iv read for a while, didnt want it to end
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse