Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 31 January 2018
Excellent beginners guide to preservation techniques, the author is obviously well versed in doing such things, the hard copy is highly recommended so I've given it five stars, however avoid the Kindle version like the plague, it has numerous blank pages ( at least one in every chapter) which make the book unintelligible, frustrating and worth less than nothing , leaving the reader with large amounts of essential information missing, for this the Kindle version deserves zero stars, it has been returned to store.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2001
When Jane Grigson (Sophie's Mum) mentions and recommends someone else's food preparation book as 'excellent', it is as well to check it out. If you appreciate a level of advice such as 'Do not let your ducks catch fire', when discussing how to smoke fowl, and if you are fed up with 'over the top' recipes for smoking pork which include 'Wild Willie's Number One-derful rub', then you should read this book.
Keith Erlandson is a retired gamekeeper, perhaps best known for his well respected books on training gun dogs. In his leaner years, he supplemented his income by curing and smoking fish and game. He therefore has the benefit of first hand practical experience when constructing smokers - which is sometimes lacking in other guides to smoking food. One such recommends using an old 'fridge for smoking, "but be careful not to get it too hot or the food will taint from the burning plastic!"
Recipes cover hot and cold smoking, curing as preparation for smoking, and what to expect! If you have never tasted hot smoked chicken or turkey, or hot smoked fish, such as cod, haddock or sea bream, then this will be an eye opener. The directions work and the results are superb, even pork sausages taste special when hot smoked, and smoked eggs..... The more difficult cold smoking process is also explained in the sort of detail which allows you to start with confidence. Part travelogue, where he returns to his Scandinavian roots, one gets the comforting feeling that he is demystifying what is a very old fashioned and simple skill. If the price of the book bothers you, check out the price of even chemical smoked chicken.
33 Comments| 149 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2016
Bought this as a stocking filler present for my brother, and after doing much research decided that this was the best no fuss book. If you want top chef books with glossy images etc, then this one is not for you. Although this is a small book in size it covers pretty much everything anyone looking into home curing and smoking would need. Also it will tuck away nicely when not in use and not be a book where you are constantly trying to find a place for it to sit. Great little purchase for the price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2016
Bought this for my husband who has just started smoking his own bacon. He informs me that the instructions are very clear and his 'go to' book for home smoking. Great tips are included and set out in a clear, easy to understand matter. Good for novices as well as experienced.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2015
Well a good idea but WAY too short on detail, it's like
"so you know what you want to do, here's a plan for the Hardest way possible to do it"
It seems to assume you already know HOW to smoke and cure, in which case, why do I need a book on it?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2014
For me this did not excite. Whilst it is a good book for those needing advice on the subject, my own assumption before purchase was that curing and smoking were methods of preservation. After reading this volume I believe they are methods of flavoring which does not offer long term storage of produce which would otherwise spoil.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2014
An excellent book, especially as it was written for the UK reader, even if written a while ago. All too often with books written originally for the US market, suppliers and names of ingredients can cause confusion. I have found it to be an excellent "Bedtime Dip In Book"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2017
gives a lot of ideas good value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2016
Not really what I expected but lots of information for those doing lots of smoking, which I am not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2013
Another present for yet another daughter, and she loves it. I think she imagines she is living in the bush and all her food has to be smoked and cured before storing in her cupboards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)