Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
53
Look Me in the Eye: My Life with Asperger's
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 June 2016
I loved the way John Robison almost steps outside of himself to observe and explain his thought processes when having to communicate. True to form he is detailed and analytical in talking about how learned to communicate "properly". The book is equally rich in emotion and observation and his work as a musician and engineer is hard to stop reading about! A must read for anyone trying to understand what it's really like to have Aspergers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2011
Although it's slow to start, this is a fascinating exploration of the life of a man who has Asperger's Syndrome. Social situations take on a whole new meaning, bewildering for him (hence the book's title), and his reactions equally perplexing for others.

Many of the anecdotes in the book are funny, some are sad, there are some laugh-out-loud moments. John builds a successful career in the sound industry, moving into electronics, and finally running his own car repair business. There are trials and tribulations along the way, of course, however it's a joy to read about someone with such a positive attitude!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2014
This is an amusing and sometimes sad story of somebody who grew up with Aspergers from a time before it was defined to be a form of autism. It is an autobiography written by an adult who has been a success in life due to the positives of Asperger's and despite its limitations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2017
Very well written book tells you lots info funny in parts made me smile any way if you don't no much about aspergers this is the book foreviews you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2016
Very good book. Interesting, informative, funny. A good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2016
Excellent, moving, insightful and informative biography
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2013
I bought this book for myslef as I have been reading a lot of books about Aspergers or books written by people with Aspergers. It is a very interesting book and gives an insight into other's minds with Aspergers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2016
Even though I'd never heard of this man, his life story is fascinating. He nearly goes off the rails several times, but always manages to find a way to keep going. His insights into a different way of seeing the world are so entertainingly written that you don't notice how much you are learning. A great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 October 2011
An interesting look at the author's struggles with social interaction which were only identified well into adulthood as Asperger's syndrome. A useful read and a reminder of the need not to jump to conclusions about our fellow human beings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2013
This book was so interesting and I was unable to put it down. My eight year old son has aspergers syndrome and this book has made me look at this in a completely different way. I have more confidence in his future and feel like celebrating his unique skills.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)