Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
52
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 20 October 2017
Can’t believe a father could act they way he did yet claim Vickys body for burial How pathetic is he
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Great book I enjoyed tear jerker
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
Excellent book. My heart goes out to all the family. I know how it feels to lose a sister you love so dearly. From the female perspective, I wish Sharon's Mum was granted her dying wish!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 March 2009
Sharon Hamilton is the elder sister of Vicky, who went missing in 1990 and whose body was found 17 years later in the garden of a house previously occupied by convicted killer Peter Tobin, 400 miles away from her Scotland home in Kent. Sharon was the last person to see Vicky before she went missing, having enjoyed a weekend with her sister staying at her home. "Taken" is the story of Vicky, Sharon and the 17 year agony of waiting for the truth about what had happened to Sharon's beloved sister.

I have read a number of books by relatives of murder victims, and Sharon Hamilton's is one of the best. It is a tough book to read in that the story it tells is one of unimaginable pain and heartbreak, but is also ultimatly an uplifting story of the love between Vicky and her siblings, 'and Sharon's ability to move forward with her life now that justice has been done for Vicky. Sharon writes movingly and extremely honestly, not just about Vicky but also of her family circumstances, including the traumatic relationship with her father. At times it is an uncomfortable read because of Sharon's honestly in this regard, but it is also, because of this, a very worthwhile a warts and all account of what effect a child going missing and ultimatly being found murdered, has on a family.

The book is more than just a factual story of the effects of murder though. All too often the victims are forgotten in these circumstances. The name of their killer lives on, and the killers story is always remembered but the victim's life and personality pales into the background and their name is forever, unfortunatly, linked to that of their murderer. "Taken" is a tribute to Vicky, in which you get a real sense of the character of this young lady and come to feel like you know her. You learn of Vicky's background, ambitions, friendships and of all the potential of this Vicky which was so cruelly taken away. This book ensures that Vicky's story will not be forgotten, and her name will not pale into the background of the shocking story of her killer Peter Tobin. Because of this, if nothing else, this book is well worth reading.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2009
This is a story which has touched a great many people. I have followed the story of Vicky Hamilton and the evil man who killed her closely over the last few years.

This is an insight into the turmoil and anguish that the family have had to endure and the long struggle to get answers and justice. This was a family like many others forever to be torn apart by one evil man's actions.

This shows a family, who already fractured before their loved one went missing, ended up further apart after their long ordeal finally came to an end.

Through this book we can see how one person can cause misery and change so many lives forever.

A sad story which should never have needed to be written if evil had not visited this family.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2010
Sharon Hamilton's love for her sister shines through in this book. She was very brave and selfless. I just wish it could have had a happier ending for her and her family. Very sad.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2012
I lived locally when Vicky disapeared. like many local people In the area we followed Vickys story. Sharon wrote a book showing the love she and her family had for Vicky and the devastation of Vicky been gone for so long. such a tragic end but finally Vicky is home
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
I read this book as i live in Edinburgh not far from falkirk ,and remember when this happened , just to say Sharon is one strong woman ,it was a hard read but i wanted to hear the good news ,i felt so sorry for vickys sister's sharon , lindsay and brother lee and most of all vickys poor mum .i did at times think to myself i cant read this anymore ,but had to find out the end and was so happy that this beast will never get out .Well done sharon and all the best ! One courageous woman .x
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
I really felt as though I knew Vicky the way her sister discribed her in this story of her abduction. Vicky sounded such a lovely young woman.
It was a very interesting although sad book especially when you learn how old her mother was when she passed away. Such a young age and obviously caused through the torment of her missing daughter. Sad also that the family were torn apart because of a family dispute.
I enjoyed reading this book and it felt hard to put down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)