Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 12 December 2017
Good read, just try to forget who wrote it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2013
I didn't realise how funny Piers Morgan is. Some may say he is smug but he has a charm about him that cannot be denied. It gives a great insight to the highs and lows of his life with some entertaining stories. Great buy :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2015
GOOD BOOK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 November 2009
It's difficult to know whether to like or hate Piers Morgan, on the one hand he can sometimes come across as unbelievably smug, but on the other his humour is so self deprecating that he's entertaining and amusing. Anyway, having read Morgan's first book The Insider this volume took up the story after his infamous Mirror sacking and sees him trying to earn a living as a freelance journalist/after dinner speaker/celebrity. He bumbles along and manages some amusing faux passes along the way, especially in regard to securing a secure TV job and his ongoing feuds with other media types such as Jeremy Clarkson and Charlie Brooker are interesting.

The chapters surrounding Morgan's work on American Idol with Simon Cowell are well worth a read, if nothing else for his take on fellow judge David `The Hoff' Hasselhoff. His wooing of journalist Celia Walden is also quite sweet, but the really telling segments are his interviews with various people for GQ and his summary of Kate Moss is incredibly perceptive. The diary entries which pertain to his love of Arsenal football club or various cricket events are fairly boring, but otherwise an excellent book and a somewhat guilty pleasure as I'm sure you'll agree!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2008
This book was a lighthearted read, but it becomes so apparent that Morgan truly does think of himself as a big-time celebrity long before he made it big on America's Got Talent. I would imagine that most people bought this book to read about gossip about various celebrities, and - like me - really aren't interested in Morgan's conversations with his children or gilfriend. He writes like he's a celebrity and worthy of a great deal of attention. He's not.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2009
Just in case you didn't know, along with an assortment of talentless, self obsessed, so-called celebrities, journalists, professional socialites, politicians and their hangers - on and other assorted media freaks, Piers Morgan is one of the legion of ridiculous little parasites making a living feeding off and being nourished by the whole foolish media world. Sitting in and adding to the sewer of American style trash, this is his diary.

I started off not knowing anything about the guy, I shared his views on Kate Moss certainly, but it doesn't take long to understand that there is no apparent depth or seriousness here, just a half baked ambition to jump on the gravy train of unimportant trivia and talentless egomania we have to put up with these days. It's such a shame and a waste of time.

I had started skip-reading this insubstantial little book by page 43, trying to put my finger on why it's so hopeless and thin. It's basically a list of people - I met this person, then I met that person, he said this, she said that etc. There is a complete absence of personality. The guy should try something real-go and work in the Orang Utang Sanctuary for a while, do some travelling, meet a few real people, become a proper human instead of this ridiculous, forgettable lightweight puff ball.

I don't want to waste any more time talking about this silly, superficial litle book, or having to think about these ridiculous people -life's too short.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2014
Yes, Piers, we do know who you are - the resulting answer is not polite enough to be published on this site though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 October 2007
I rather like Piers Morgan .Sure he is a vain , egocentric ,occasionally pompous, often wincingly smug human being but he is also reasonably witty , balanced and truly capable of laughing at him self. He also writes very entertaining books. "The Insider" was as addictive as something very addictive indeed and the follow up -which takes in his career post the "Mirror" sacking - is equally as compulsive. It is also a rather shallow examination of the trappings of fame and celebrity which basically amounts to Morgan saying I wanted to become rich and famous and here's how I went about it.
Thus this book takes in his break into mainstream television through humiliating appearances on "The Weakest Link ", the political show "Morgan And Platell " , "You Can't Fire Me I'm Famous" through to his big break through stateside with "America's Got Talent". Like "The Insider" it's written in diary form and is basically a heady trawl through all the celebrities, politicians( who he admits he finds mainly boring , duplicitous and only interested in one thing -themselves) and media people he meets along the way.
Through his "GQ" contact to interview numerous celebrities there are revealing conversations with Billie Piper( a very naughty girl indeed) ,Steve Coogan, Ulrika Johnson and most strikingly George Galloway who makes a truly conspicuous statement that is then frustratingly not followed up on later in the book.
Simon Cowell ( Seems a reasonable bloke apart from his hideous product but then Morgan would portray him that way wouldn't he) , "The Hoff David Hasselhoff ( Completely deranged and insecure)Anne Robinson , various cricketers , Gordon Ramsey ( Surprisingly likable) pop up regularly throughout the proceeding s. There is also a running narrative involving Morgan's attempts to woo Celia Walden ( Who is listed in the back as being his girlfriend so it worked ) which is actually the most tedious part of his book .His sons get lots of mentions but that's fair enough.
Like I said its hard to dislike the bloke. Anyone who calls Kate Moss a "stroppy , pinch-faced little coke snorter from Croydon" or Pete Doherty a "filthy talent less junkie" is alright by me and his venomous opinionated writings are often spot on you feel. His comments on the McCartney /Heather Mills break-up provoke an extraordinary outburst from the soon to be ex-Mrs McCartney and hard though it is I feel he is absolutely right about Boris Johnson's upper class twit act being a bit of a con. His tales that end up with him being the butt of the joke are great and one or twice he even offers glimpses of insecurity .
Morgan concludes that being a celebrity is hard work and often humiliating but the rewards are worth it. Bizarrely he deduces that being a celebrity is actually a talent in itself - that the power by sheer force of will to get people to believe in you is something that could be described as flair . I disagree on that point but also take his point that the success of so many reality celebs is partly a back lash against clean cut "Cosseted saccharine superstars". To believe someone is worthy because they have been on the goggle box is stupidity boiled down to its essence and to pursue fame avariciously for its sake is ultimately delusional , potentially disastrous ...Just ask Jade Goody . Yet Piers Morgan makes it seem a right laugh and a terrific life to lead. Indeed he's enjoying himself so much he even makes friends with Jeremy Clarkson.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2008
I loved Piers' first memoir. It was naughty, funny, fascinating and filled with excellent gossip. His vanity and ego was leavened by the fact he never took himself too seriously, and knew he was a bit of an arse. So naturally I bought his new book.
Big mistake. Despite the knowing title, Piers has started taking himself too seriously. Although that's not the major problem with the book. It's that he hasn't got enough material. I guess he has to deliver a second memoir and the publisher was on his back so he just shoved down any old stuff. The first half is him literally wondering what he's going to do with the rest of his life, hanging out with his kids and chasing Celia Walden, and it's really, really tedious (no famous tittle tattle either, and frankly, that's what we're here for).
Also, what's with all the wibbling on about his kids? At one point there's about 5 pages dedicated to how he took his son out in a Lamborghini to a game for his birthday, then the horrible nasty driver was late (a near-page of tirade against this man) and, and... seriously, why would anyone be interested in this? Yes, yes, well done Piers, you're a great dad, have a pat on the back... I have nothing against Piers's children, I'm sure they're lovely, it's just not what I bought the book for!
That said, the stuff about The Hoff is excellent, and really quite funny (in an awful way), so it gets a star. So if you're thinking of buying this book, buy it second-hand (to save as much money as possible), and read the last third. Seriously, you won't miss anything.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 5 January 2008
I read and loved The Insider,Piers Morgan's first published diaries, and fully anticipated loving this follow up just as much. Thankfully, I wasn't disappointed. However, what I will say, just to prepare a potential reader, is that there isn't quite as much juicy and delicious gossip as The Insider since he is no longer a tabloid editor. However, as a detailed romp through his search for fame, both here and in LA, its second to none. There is still a high head count of celebrities and Mr Morgan isn't backwards in coming forwards with his opinions on one and all. He loathes Kate Moss and Pete Doherty and gives a graphic vignette of being in their presence, and yet he has a lot of time for Anne Robinson and his New Best Friends, The Hoff and of course, Simon Cowell.

These diaries cover his courtship of both fame and his now girlfriend, the gossip columnist and writer, Celia Walden. I would say he succeeds in bagging both having jumped through many, many hoops to get there. There are some lovely human touches in the way that he tries to give his sons the best birthdays and the best holidays, only to be shot down in flames by some withering remark from his sons (Dad why haven't you got a Lambourghini?), or foiled in his plans by an incompetent driver (I couldn't find you). He is rescued from irritating pomposity in three ways. Firstly, he openly admits he has a big ego, secondly, he is not afraid to recount the many, MANY times when he has made an abject fool of himself both publicly and privately, and thirdly, he tries hard to be a good Dad and its rather touching when he misses his boys and tries so hard to make them happy.

I enjoyed this immensely and it gives a fascinating insight into the fanfare and reverence accorded to massive TV hits in the USA. Despite being an untried, non famous rookie on America's Got Talent, he is immediately given a huge trailer and a personal gofer. As for his colleagues- Simon Cowell comes across well as fiercely ambitious but fair and The Hoff is on his own planet. I thoroughly recommend it and I look forward to his next tome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)