Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
20
4.1 out of 5 stars
When Jack Sued Jill - Nursery Rhymes for Modern Times
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 June 2017
beyond my expectations as it was a signed copy. thanks you :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 January 2012
Felix Dennis poetry is special - accessible, fun, engaging, sometimes poignant, always a great read (or listen).

This version comes with a CD of Felix reading how work, and his voice adds real depth and vitality to these great poems.

Not into poetry reading? Neither was I until I went to one! But I am converted to Felix at least.

What is so clever about this book is that Felix has taken the staple nursery rhymes, all ones we know, and rewritten them in his inimitable style to be up-to-date, often hysterically funny, and sometimes very "non-PC".

Read two or three and you are hooked. Guaranteed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2009
I love the way the poems are set against the rhythm of children's nursery rhymes. It's very clever.

Felix Dennis touches on the modern situations such as Hoodies and politics all in the same book. It is very interesting and the free audio CD makes listening to the poems even better.

I must say, Little Miss Muffet is portrayed as an awfully naughty girl in this book!!!

Hilarious!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 April 2014
A mixed bag here, some wickedly funny, some (Little Miss Muffet) unfunnily suggestive and crude, some boring (Old Osama had a Farm). My yardstick is that these rhymes should be suitable for at least older children with an understandable liking for ribald humour, and this book is probably borderline. Adults may find too many of yesterday's men the subject of derision (Jacques Chirac?) so enjoyable in parts, only.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2011
A good fun book. Very clever rhymes enhanced by brilliant illustrations. Not for children, we don't want to confuse them or be too cynical with their own nursery rhymes. Adults will have a good laugh accompanied by some quite moving verses. Read and laugh.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
Felix Dennis is a genius - he has writen such entertaining material over many years and now he comes up with something else,

different but still 'him'!! thank you Felix for passing on to us your poems, stories and experiences - what fun.......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2008
do not be but off with the title this is a book for the 21 century
these are not for young kids .but for adults very funny you will laugh
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
A good idea but lacking bite. Some stories sound better than others. A mixed bunch. The concept is good but the delivery failed in intent.
Modern political /social commentaries as nursery rhythms are fine and to be encouraged as statements of our times but relying or using he patterns/frame work or titles of older rhythms mixed the images and he effect, straddling times as it were.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
A great book, very witty, in good condition, would have given 5 stars, except for that it was not stated that the book, was singed by Felix Dennis which was great but also adressed to the people who originally bought the book. I had bought it as a small gift, but, now will keep the book myself, which is not all bad as I find it very amusing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
This man has a facility with language which I both admire and envy. He is funny mischievous sly subversive. I much admire him both as a poet and a man. I dont read poetry as a rule but there are two exceptions Dylan Thomas and Felix. Dylan was a genius Felix isn't but he is pretty bloody good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse