Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2005
Aromatherapy an A-Z is a first class book. I have used it as a health encyclopedia (along with a wonderful herb book ~ The New Holistic Herbal by David Hoffmann) for the last 13 years and refer to it constantly. Almost (!) all the information you could ever need on all aspects of aromatherapy from treatment and prevention of specific illnesses, history of plant use & methods of oil extaction, to cosmetic use (including recipes for cosmetic products), all in an easy to use A-Z 'dictionary' format. Includes information on related practices such as Yoga and Reflexology etc Everyone interested in their own health should own a copy of this insightful and indespensible book.

I have a comment however, about the latest edition of this book published by Vermilion.. Don't buy this book! It is of VERY poor quality (the paper used for the pages of the book particularly). If you want to get hold of a copy (which I highly recommend!) ~ try to get hold of an older edition (the 2000 edition still has exactly the same content as this latest edition) you can still get this older edition from the Random House on-line bookshop (who have taken over CW Daniel ~ the original publishers' books), and now also from Amazon.
22 Comments| 119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
I use this book constantly for natural remedies. It's helped with rashes and ointments for bites etc. There are also some remedies for hair, aches, pains and other conditions even chicken pox. All the ingredients are explained in the book and I've found that you can generally find most of the things you need in places like holland and Barrett or local pharmacy. There's easy to follow instructions and references at the back of the book for more information as well as those ingredients that are not safe to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2017
Good book and content, but what the hell were the printers thinking of printing right to the page borders, I mean there is literally words to the very bottom of the page on some pages and they are very inconsistent.

Very childish layout and not very well though out. didn't they proof read the layout or anything ?!?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2006
This book is wonderful for anyone who wants to practice aromatherapy within the comfort of their own home. The book explains the history of aromatherapy & then goes on to the A-Z. The A-Z includes the essential oils & all the conditions it's used to treat & other treatments that can be used in conjunction with aromatherapy e.g. Acne, Acupunture etc. The Appendix has a list of all the hazardous essential oils, oils that are not to be used during pregnancy, oils that must not be used on people suffering from Epilipsy and good combinations for bathing etc. I found the book informative & very useful!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Very comprehensive guide, for the serious aromatherapist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2017
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2004
There are so many books on aromatherapy on the market and many of them are interesting, but of all the books I have read or bought on the subject I find this one the most reliable and well used. I can usually find what I am looking for and unlike some books you have both recommended oils for common ailments and details of many essential oils including some of the more unusual ones.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
This is, indeed, exactly what it claims. An A-Z, in other words, a comprehensive dictionary of all matters pertaining to the subject. No pretty pictures of people doing the blindingly obvious, nor of all manner of unnecessary equipment. No space is wasted. If you want to know what an oil is used for, or who it should not be used on, or which oils to use for which condition, state or mood, this, dear reader, is the only book you need.
A proper, serious, authoritative work. Hurrah!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2009
I was looking for an aromatherapy book that would give me a summary of oils for certain conditions but found this book thick and detailed which would be great if thats what you wanted but no recipes or quick reference. So if you wanted to know what oils are suggested for XYZ then this is not the book for you.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2006
Aromatherapy an A-Z is a first class book. I have used it as a health 'bible'/encyclopedia (along with a wonderful herb book ~ The New Holistic Herbal by David Hoffmann) for the last 13 years and refer to it constantly. Almost (!) all the information you could ever need on all aspects of aromatherapy from treatment and prevention of specific illnesses, history of plant use & methods of oil extaction, to cosmetic use (including recipes for cosmetic products), all in an easy to use A-Z 'dictionary' format. Includes information on related practices such as Yoga and Reflexology etc Everyone interested in their own health should own a copy of this insightful and indespensible book.

** N.B. I highly recommend buying this edition rather than the 2005 edition published by Vermillion ~ it contains exactly the same information word for word, but is of a much higher quality in terms of the materials used (paper printing etc).

Enjoy!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse